Make your roads look better

davesnow

Crabby Old Geezer
I will try to add a small "tip" to route makers here. I know this will probably look so very simple to a lot of veteran route makers, but I think some will appreciate my "tip" no matter how small.

Roads will look better if you add a bit of color on the shoulder. Look at this shot of a road with no shoulder color:

Uncolored.jpg

Now compare it to this screenshot of a road with a bit of gravel added to both sides of the road. I don't know about the rest of you, but the color looks more realistic to me.

Colored.jpg

I sincerely hope this tip isn't too elementary. Just trying to help any way I can.:)

...It's a good start...

8) Thanks Dave, don't expect, suggest.

Sometimes in route building, we concentrate on our strengths.

Mine, is track and signal.

And, my weakness, is scenery...I'm no artist, and after all, we are painting a picture...I can imitate, but not create from scratch.

As long as the texture used is native to the rest of the route, frame rates are not affected, as much as if you added a new texture for the program to render.

But like someone else posted in another thread...we can always take a route, and improve where we think it needs it. I do this with any route I run...sometimes.

and a great tip it is...

I for one am very grateful for any advice offered!

And you're so right, it makes a big difference. I always line my tracks with gravel to make them look nice, so why didn't I think of doing it to the roads too? Well, now I will.

Thanks

PS: by the way, those are very nice pictures! Are they from a route you created? And if so, is that one available on DLS? And if it is, what name should I be looking for?
(sorry for all these silly questions in this thread)

Last edited:
The elementary things are the most important ones.

I'm going to file this idea away for future use. Thanks.

Bernie

I for one am very grateful for any advice offered!