Some Thoughts on TRS22 S2.0

Paul_Bert

Train Enthusiast
I have been using Trainz for over 18 years since version 2004. I am an octogenarian so old habits are hard to overcome.

I started out using S2.0 when it was first released. The first month or so there was a lot of fumbling around trying to learn the new interface and trying to figure out how to do things the new way.
I must say that after almost a year using S2.0 it makes building and modifying routes almost magical. It speeds most things up and simplifies many of the tasks. The introduction several months ago of the Wiki "How to use S20 tools", and most recently "How to use S20 Palettes" are great tutorials and reference tools to make S20 very understandable and intuitive.

After using S20 the classic surveyor seems to be very cumbersome, although still very functional.

There are still several features of the Classic surveyor which I find myself still using. These are "Bulk Asset Update/replace", "Add random scenery", and the water function. The water function in S2.0 has some interesting features not available in Classic surveyor, such as making a mountain stream. I am still trying to experiment with the water feature, but I have not mastered it yet.

I still wish that some of the little symbols were larger on the map. Sometimes it is very hard to find these little symbols when the texture is very dark, and the route is cluttered with scenery. But over time I have come to live with these things.

Last year when I started using S2.0 I decided to early on to remove the crutch of always going back to the Classic surveyor when I ran into issues. Over the months I became less dependent on the Classic Surveyor as a fall back.

I am a little disappointed that development on refining S2.0 seems to have come to a halt in favor of HD Terrain. I am sure this will be an interesting new feature when completed. Perhaps this new version will also include some bug fixes and additions to S2.0.