Renaming rolling stock

daedalus84

I'm relatively new to trs19... I'm attempting run a route using a system similar to model railroad car cards to help with switching and deciding which cars go on which trains, etc. I'd like to be able to have each car's reporting mark and number above the car when switching to make it easier to see which car is which. I understand I can turn on "Traincar names" but these usually default to "73ft Centerbeam BNSF 2" or whatever which isn't very helpful. I edit the car names in Surveyor to reporting mark and number, but when I save and exit, and come back to the game, the names are all reset to default. (As are the loads, but that's another can of worms)

I don't know much about Routes vs Sessions, and as far as I know, my rolling stock is all on a session layer while track and industries is in a route layer. I only ever use one session, edit within the session, and overwrite existing session when I save. Should I try placing everything on the route layer and edit in there? Or is this a known bug and there's no way around it.

Any help is appreciated. Thanks!

Edit: I'm so new to trs19 I actually have trs22. Oops..

Last edited:
The process is the same in either version, or actually in all versions.

You were correctly changing the name of the train car in the right place, but that has to be done in the session-only and is only good for that session. Don't do this in the route because the changes will never save.

For a more permanent solution, you need to edit the config.txt files for each and every train car and this works for only DLS and third-party and does not work for DLC or built-in assets. The problem is you'll need multiple versions, and your best bet is to clone the train car in content manager. It's easy to do but there's a lot of work.

Highlight the train car you want to clone.
Press CTRL+D

Your train car won't be visible but it's there.
Open a new content manager window by pressing CTRL+N