freeform runs

allthumbs

I'm new to TRS2006. Which runs(besides training) can I do w/out a schedule or duties - just to play around and learn? Or what are some really easy runs?

Go to "Surveyor" and open any route/map. Add the rolling stock you want to use then save it. From there go to "Driver" and have at it.

I don't know how to use Surveyor. When I open it, the landscape has circles all over it. Will those go away? I'm sure that's a really dumb question, but I just started playing

Those circles are Spline Points.

They are where track segmets end, start, and connect. Ignore them and you'll be fine.

To get Rolling Stock (ex: Gas Cars, Box Cars) Hit the side button that has a wheel in it. I panel will appear. Now find something like ATSF F7A. Now hit the + button and then left click on the track and you will see the loco on the track.

Congradulations! You just put your first peice of Rolling Stock/Locomotive in Trainz!

Enjoy your Trainzing Experiance!

im new also....here is something that helped me a lot.

Once you are in surveyor and you start placing some rolling stock you can press ctrl f2 and you will be put into driver so you can test things out a little as you go. then you can exit driver and go back to surveyor and continue changing your route.

Keep in mind that anything you do in driver stays as that "session" From what i understand you can not modify a session as it starts a new "session"

it was kinda confusing for me at first also. Just play around with it a little and have fun. the folks on here are great at answering your questions.

What exactly do you mean by easiest?
I have so many routes downloaded in the first place I dont even know the original routes anyway! lol :hehe: :hehe:

Like just get from point A to point B - no schedules, drop offs, etc. I think there was an Amtrak run on Trainz Driver Edition like that.