Dual Display

barryg

Hi guys. I've got 2 identical 22" 16:10 lcd monitors and have run Trainz and other games in 3360x1050 resolution. Whilst the immersion factor has increased exponentionally - things such as people actually look normal size, and the whole cab is around 38.5" across :wave: - there exists the problem of the center plastic edges of the monitors where they meet. My monitors have 17mm edges around the screens, thus when they are side by side i have a 34mm vertical strip right in the center of both monitors. As you know the track your driving on is right in the center of the display, and as each monitor draws half of the track, it gets really weird when the tracks turn, or at junctions where tracks meet.

I could either physically adjust the monitors plastic surround so there is no plastic where they touch (I've never done it before and am sceptical of whether it could be successfully done), or to somehow optically correct the problem. I've been thinking of whether a prism would suffice. If one was to be positioned between the monitors - pointy end in-between them (please note the highly technical terminology :'( ), would this 'throw' the reflection of the display edges onto the flat surface facing me. Would this work?

Any other suggestions would be helpful in overcoming this problem. :wave:

Regards Barryg

You could do this: http://www.zusi.de/forum/greenspeed01.jpg

So you are running Trainz on a 2 split screens (I guess by -dualhead or whatever that trainzoptions line is).

The track is showing somewhat double on both monitors, where the monitors overlap ?

The Rube Goldberg way is to take a black strip of sometin' like plastic, tape it to the monitor edge, and mask out a small portion or either (or both monitors). But this would make an even wider black bar spacing your 2 monitors.

Do NOT take a Dewalt portable circular power saw, and try to cut down on the monitors LCD screen edge, and it's case. :hehe:

Last edited: