New Player questions

hondadogie

Trainz Enthusiast
I am fairly new to Trainz...well, not really...let me explain. I started out with TS2009 a while back which I purchased for my son since he is really into trains (what boy is not!?). Soon afterwards, I found Trainz is not really a "game" as much as it is a simulator. So it lay dormant for years in my PC until I got the itch to pick at it some more. I saw the superior textures of TS12 and grabbed it as well. After toying around for a while with the tutorials and the built in routes, I decided to try my hand at some of the add-on routes/sessions as well as surveyor creating custom sessions for the routes I already had. Some of the questions I have that I need answers for or at least some good links for reading up on are:

1) When editing an existing route and making a new session, how is one to add industries? There are just SO MANY assets under the "objects" tab in surveyor and none have descriptions of what they produce or require.

2) If I want to keep existing industries, how is one to know what type of rolling stock is needed for a particular commodity? Obviously coal and logs are easy, but what about the others? Steel, concrete, etc.

3) Somewhere out there, there must be a more in-depth guide or manual to surveyor than the few pages in the game manual because it simply is just not enough (at least not for myself).

Thanks in advance to any and all that take the time to contribute to my questions and to all a good day!!

If you look though the list of scenery assets in surveyor, there is an icon that indicates if the building is "industry active", but the only way to know what it consumes and produces in to plonk on the map somewhere, click on he question mark (bottom rigt of the asset panel), an click on the building (though some buildings are obvous by their name, as you say).