Bulk update object Bound Layer property

hotchillies

I'm trying to replace track in bulk to get better FPS...

It's possible to change the Bound Layer property of sections of track. This is useful if you want to create/copy a session for a payware/locked route and edit the object. I would like to do this in bulk e.g. via something like the Bulk Asset replace screen so I can swap out frame rate unfriendly track with more performant tracks. I get anywhere from 14 FPS with some tracks and 25+ FPS when replaced with others. But that screen only allows you to move objects to a different layer (not the Bound Layer property) which then forces you to save a new route. I don't want a new route, just a new session copied from an existing one where I can tweak the tracks.

Is there some other way of doing this I'm missing? I may be missing the obvious here somewhere but I'm new to this and trying to understand the process.

You are correct, the Bulk Asset Update/Replace tool cannot alter the <bound layer> property of assets, only their <base layer> property. The bound layer should not matter unless you have locked that layer in which case it will stop the update/replace process.

I suspect that you may be confused over the issue of routes and sessions. Track is normally part of a route, it will be in one of the route layers. I have never come across a layout where the tracks are in a session and I suspect, from past experience, that it would cause problems if it was.

If you make any changes to the track (even if that change is to move a single spline point by just a few centimetres) then you have changed the route and you will have to save the route - hence its insistence that you save the route. This can be saved as a new route or saved over the top of the old route and replace it - the choice is yours. (I do not understand why you have not been given the option to replace the route)