TRS19 & TRS22 Performance on Radeon GPU

twixed

Hi all,

We all know that TRS has a very old game engine, and one should not expect miracles from it, but when a game on minimum settings runs terrible on a system that handles Cyberpunk, TSW and MSFS2020 on ultra without any issues, that tends to raise some questions. So, I've been playing (and paying for) Trainz for the past four months, and even upgraded my system a bit during this time, but the game performance has always been terrible.
I'll start with my current system's specs:
Intel Xeon E5-1650v3 (6C/12T) @ 4.3GHz
128Gb DDR4 2133MHz
AMD Radeon 6600 XT 8GB
both system and game installed on nVME drives (TRS content folder is NOT on the system drive)

The issue I'm having with E2 engine is that it cannot utilize my GPU at its full potential. More than half of the time GPU is busy copying something from/to somewhere instead of doing actual rendering. That happens on any route, with any scenario, independently of the amount of objects on scene. And during this GPU frequency stays around 700 MHz (with occasional spikes to 1100).

Here's a screenshot that probably will explain the issue a little bit better:
https://imgur.com/a/QzoeLui
QzoeLui

6ULTeXV

And here is the TRS profiler screenshot:
https://imgur.com/hv7SshO

I've tried different driver versions, different settings, played with CPU affinity and Windows' graphics settings. Nothing worked.

If anyone knows how to solve this issue, please respond.

Hi,
At the risk of being obvious:-
have you got an antivirus program running? If so, can you add both the Trainz program and the data folder to the exemption list?
Have you tried reducing the quality settings?

I find that trainz uses the gpu quite hard (Rtx 2060), in contrast to the Tane and earlier programs.

Colin

have you got an antivirus program running?

No (besides the built-in MS antimalware service).

Have you tried reducing the quality settings?