Starting point for a Newbie

Lancsman

I am new to train simming, and have been looking through various websites & forums to get an understanding of which 'Sims' offer what function etc.

As ever each offering seems to have pluses & minuses, and offer varying degrees of UK content / areas and timeframes.

I suspect that I will want to have more than one Sim to enjoy the widest spread, and have already been tinkering a little with MSTS (OK no swear words). I am enjoying it but have a few frustrations, particularly in terms of the integration of road activity, which is where Trainz seems to perhaps have an edge.

I am a bit vary of jumping in at TC3 level (due to some of the comments on the forums), and m also confused by the array of different Trainz offerings around at the moment.

I have spotted the following package, and would appreciate some advice as to whether this is a good start point for a newbie.

'Trainz - The Complete Collection', which claims to include :

Trainz Railroad Simulator 2006:
Over 25 complete routes
More than 50 immersive Driver activities
Communicate online with other users in-game with Trainz iChat
Expand your collection with over 80,000 additional items available to download free
Trainz Routes 1-4 for TRS2006:
20 new routes
Trainz Railroad Simulator 2004:
The game that set a completely new standard in the virtual railroading experience
Play the role of Builder to Driver to Dispatcher, exploring your creations and those of others
Lose yourself in Trainz as you continue to develop your bustling rail network
Ultimate Trainz Collection:
Packed with content
Trainz Railroad Simulator
Tons of special Bonus Content including new locos, new scenery objects plus new scenarios
Trainz Paintshed:
Paintshed allows you the freedom to design and create your very own unique railroad paint schemes and authentically repaint your favourite trains from throughout the world