Questions about how to legally make reskins.

Gameoholic1994

I just have one question about the whole reskinning thing, because I'm still learning. In the asset's config, it says not to reskin or modify the asset "without prior consult" to the asset's original owner. But how does it work to legally reskin without worries? Do you just clone the asset and do whatever you want with the clone? And by modify, I mean change certain dependencies by changing the kuid number for each chosen dependencies in the main asset's config text? Or do you still have to contact the original owner through the contact info (if they provide one)? But I also apologize if this is stuff that I should've already learned by myself long ago.

And those questions about reskinning also apply to Railworks (a.k.a. Train Simulator 2017), if anybody plays that, too.

You can reskin for your own private use without obtaining permission.

Not entirely true, always read the license included in the asset. There are a few creators out there who even ban personal reskins.

And if the asset doesn't have a license written into it, you still have to contact the original creator. The "license" section is for creators to add onto or exclude parts of the standard copywright laws.

The ONLY time you do not have to contact the original creator is when the license specifically says that you do not need to.

peter

Not entirely true, always read the license included in the asset. There are a few creators out there who even ban personal reskins.
No-one can stop you from modifying assets for your own use. It doesn't matter what they might try to do with threatening messages in the config, they cannot control what people do for their own private purposes. Once they publish something the only rights they have over it are the rights conferred by Copyright, and that only applies to publishing. If you don't publish it, you can do what you like with it.