Google Earth Textures

Johann193

Hello,

I'm a newbie in creating custom content for Trainz 2007 (I'm French) and didn't find in this forum how to use Google Earth Images on an EXISTING map (I 've already started to place rails and a river and wish not to loose the work). I've only found how to use basemap for creating a new map,

Thanks a lot and sorry for my poor English :)

I suppose you could make the rest of the map like that as a new map and then combine the two into one map. Apart from that, I'm not sure.

For using a google earth image in Trainz, you must georectify it with Transdem or GlobalMapper. For the later, see
icon1.gif
subscribed.gif
TUTORIAL: How to use Topo Maps in Trainz : http://forums.auran.com/trainz/showthread.php?t=28387

Global Mapper and TranzDEM

Hello,

Thanks for your reply.

I own TransDEM and manage to create a map from it but it seems that texturing didb't work. I have the map on one side and the UTM tiles on the other side. I'd like to use UTM tiles to be paste in my map, but I only have "plates" (baseboards ?) and it doesn't stick to the relief of the map. I read the tutorials you suggested me but I can't find neither the "custom_shaders.rar" file nor maps of my country (France). Perhaps I could scan it ?

I also have georeff pictures of Google Earth (georeferenced by TranZDEM) but I didn't find how to use them in my map.

Please help ! (seems I'm very newby for creating in trainz);)

G'day Johann,

The instructions supplied with TransDEM are quite comprehensive and "The Good Doctor" covers the aspect of the process which is bothering you most adequately in Tutorial 2:Google Earth & TransDEM on page 94 of the manual. You may also want to read through the TranzDEM tutorials available from the 'Trainz' menu...