Finding Layouts

Silvis

I'm pretty new to TrainZ so I have a question...
Basically it is this: In Download Station if I click on Routes & Layouts I see there are well over 1000 layouts to choose from. Is there anywhere, either inside or outside the Auran website, where a person can get more detailed information about all these different layouts? The search function in the Download Station is very basic so, without having to download many layouts to find ones I might enjoy, is there a better way to narrow the search to ones that I might be interested in?

Along with that, is there anywhere where there is a rating system or a review for the many, many downloads available? I realize ratings and reviews are subjective but the shear number of downloads available is mind blowing to the newbee.

I realize I an build my own layouts, and I plan to do that, but I'm looking for layouts I can enjoy now.

Thanks

The forums right here are probably the best place to find the info you're seeking. Try getting into the "Screenshots" or "Freeware Announcements" sections and just browse until something catches your eye. The good thing about that is, if there are any tricks to finding dependencies, you'll already have that info if you choose to DL the route. The bad thing is, sometimes you'll start looking at screenies on someone's new creation, and you've already got your mind made up this is the PERFECT route. Then you get to the end and find that its not released yet, and a ways to go to be finished.

Hi Silvis,

If you post the type and location of railroads you are interested in you will probably get quite a few recomendations. Also look at the number of times a layout has been downloaded, this could give an indication of how popular it is although you will also have to consider the length of time it has been available, check the upload date.

Cheers,
Bill69

That's a good idea...

Okay, here's what I'm envisioning for a layout...