Any TIPS, TRICKS and SUGGESTION for CHOPPING UP a large route ?

edion2

Hello,

Unlike many of you, I am a relative newbie. Started July 2007 with TS2006. I was hooked and spent hundreds of hours building my route. By March of 2008 my route became so complex that it reached the limit of “save” function of TS2006. My route is only 25% to 30% complete. Couldn’t save my route and multiple scenarios. It’s a bug in 2006. I also invested in a new video card ($300 US).

The release of the TC series made me think that Auran has abandoned the TS series. I tried switching to TC but too many assets did not show up in TC that my route did not look the same, thus requiring many hours of work to fix it. I got disgusted and didn’t run Trainz since April 2008.

Please check out my thread from screen shots to get an idea of size and complexity of my route (look for posts by edion2).

http://forums.auran.com/trainz/showthread.php?t=23447

I built my route with the idea that distance between “cities / yards” to be 20 to 30 minutes driving time apart and 5 to 10 minutes to “industry areas” from each “city”. Now I realize that “ONE LARGE WORLD” was not a good idea in 2006.

With the release of TS2009, which I just pre-ordered, I have renewed hope and interest in running and building my route again . . . But, I want to approach things differently this time.

I am planning to “CHOP UP” my route into many pieces. Doing so will decrease the “SIZE” of my routes / regions. I understand that doing this will not increase FPS but will solve any future “save problems” . . . If any. Eventually I’m hoping to upload my industry areas and completed regions of my route.

When I stopped building, I was just starting to explore PORTALS. I never got into I-PORTALS.