.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 31

Thread: Bought the C&O coal run, it didn't work, deleted the kid and the game crashed

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    United States of America, OH, Dayton
    Posts
    30
     

    Angry Bought the C&O coal run, it didn't work, deleted the kuid and the game crashed

    So, I downloaded the Chesapeake and Ohio coal run payware from Steam.
    The engine loaded. Okay, as did the tender, but the route itself did not load. It said it had a unknown dependency, and therefore it could not work.

    So I deleted the file that was faulty from my packages section. And then when I went to reload the game the whole thing crashed and said it needed to reload. So I tried to reload the game and when it was up and running. Nothing from the Chesapeake and Ohio coal run was available including the engine. Nor Did I have any paint files for ground cover, most of my tracks splines were missing, many of my decorative housing things and road splines were missing, the whole game seems to have just cr***ed out on me.

    I have since deleted the entire folder from my computer. I have uninstalled it from Steam. . And I am hoping now. That when I try and do a Reload tonight after work. . That something may work, right, hopefully?

    What really upsets me is I spent $24 and I cannot get it refunded from Steam for the C&O coal run. Steam gave a lame excuse of it was 2 days since I bought it, so go away and you are a loser.
    Last edited by Empire_Builder; February 7th, 2020 at 09:09 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Location
    In Front Of My PC
    Posts
    680
     

    Default

    Routes do not necessarily come ready to run, they may have missing dependencies, kuids that you have to hunt for, and download those missing dependencies, and install those missing dependencies. Let us know what the kuids are that are missing in the Content Manager, and someone will help you locate the missing dependencies.
    My apologies to all. I have decided that in these horrible current events, we all need to stick together as a Community

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    26,632
     

    Default

    Run a database repair. That will remove the reference to the deleted package.

    What was the missing asset?
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    T:ANE Build: 94829
    TRS2019/Trainz-PLUS: 105100

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    26,632
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MP242 View Post
    Routes do not necessarily come ready to run, they may have missing dependencies, kuids that you have to hunt for, and download those missing dependencies, and install those missing dependencies. Let us know what the kuids are that are missing in the Content Manager, and someone will help you locate the missing dependencies.
    Doesn't apply in this case. There is something wrong with the DLC package which is a different animal than the stuff from the DLS.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    T:ANE Build: 94829
    TRS2019/Trainz-PLUS: 105100

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    United States of America, OH, Dayton
    Posts
    30
     

    Default here is the error that appears and one other i would liked fixed

    this is what is shown in my C&O coal run errors box, the other is from the Flying Scotsman that was downloaded with 2019:


    Bought from Steam-

    Validating<kuid2:661281:100035:1>
    Dependency <kuid:156765:1523> is unknown.

    And for my Flying Scotsman by Auran
    Came as part of the 2019 download

    Validating<kuid2:661281:100035:1>
    Dependency <kuid2:60238:26:1> is unknown

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    United States of America, OH, Dayton
    Posts
    30
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JCitron View Post
    Run a database repair. That will remove the reference to the deleted package.

    What was the missing asset?





    Validating<kuid2:661281:100035:1>
    Dependency <kuid:156765:1523> is unknown.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    26,632
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Empire_Builder View Post
    Validating<kuid2:661281:100035:1>
    Dependency <kuid:156765:1523> is unknown.
    <kuid:156765:1523> Texaco 3-dome HW tank

    Contact the Helpdesk here:

    http://support.trainzportal.com/

    They can assist you.

    The purpose of the DBR was to clear out anything you deleted because that leaves "stubs and bits" in the database causing things to get messed up. Why this tank car is missing, I don't know. Maybe someone else can help.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    T:ANE Build: 94829
    TRS2019/Trainz-PLUS: 105100

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    United States of America, OH, Dayton
    Posts
    30
     

    Default no luck with trainz help

    that asset is not in the DLC, and I no luck at all with the trainz help people as the set up to find help is really confusing there.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Location
    In Front Of My PC
    Posts
    680
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Empire_Builder View Post
    this is what is shown in my C&O coal run errors box, the other is from the Flying Scotsman that was downloaded with 2019:

    Bought from Steam-

    Validating<kuid2:661281:100035:1>
    Dependency <kuid:156765:1523> is unknown.

    And for my Flying Scotsman by Auran
    Came as part of the 2019 download

    Validating<kuid2:661281:100035:1>
    Dependency <kuid2:60238:26:1> is unknown
    Did all the tracks show up ?

    Sometimes with a few obscure unneeded missing dependencies (left in place), a route will still run

    Again, please post the missing dependencies
    Last edited by MP242; February 8th, 2020 at 02:33 PM.
    My apologies to all. I have decided that in these horrible current events, we all need to stick together as a Community

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    United States of America, OH, Dayton
    Posts
    30
     

    Default -

    Quote Originally Posted by MP242 View Post
    Did all the tracks show up ?

    Sometimes with a few obscure unneeded missing dependencies, a route will still run

    Again, please post the missing dependencies

    the "unknown dependencies" are in the quote you used to reply

    for the C&O run it's Dependency <kuid:156765:1523> is unknown.

    I have found from an earlier answer it is a Texico 3 dome tank car that is not in the DLS

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    United States of America, OH, Dayton
    Posts
    30
     

    Default Found the kuid...now what's the problem???

    Quote Originally Posted by JCitron View Post
    <kuid:156765:1523> Texaco 3-dome HW tank

    Contact the Helpdesk here:

    http://support.trainzportal.com/

    They can assist you.

    The purpose of the DBR was to clear out anything you deleted because that leaves "stubs and bits" in the database causing things to get messed up. Why this tank car is missing, I don't know. Maybe someone else can help.



    I found a site called trainz forge. It had the dependency in a bundle of items. I downloaded it and added it to my trainz database.

    Now the darn rout is showing an error, but not what the error is!

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Location
    In Front Of My PC
    Posts
    680
     

    Default

    A route can have missing dependencies, errors, or warnings, (and leave them alone, in place) but they might not absolutely stop the route from functioning
    Last edited by MP242; February 8th, 2020 at 03:47 PM.
    My apologies to all. I have decided that in these horrible current events, we all need to stick together as a Community

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    New Caledonia
    Posts
    3,281
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Empire_Builder View Post
    Now the darn rout is showing an error, but not what the error is!
    What do you mean 'showing an error'? It's not clear how it can show an error and not say what it is.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    United States of America, OH, Dayton
    Posts
    30
     

    Default -

    It is shown in red as faulty, and does not show up as an active route. BUT when I click on it to see what is faulty, nothing shows up.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    New Caledonia
    Posts
    3,281
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Empire_Builder View Post
    It is shown in red as faulty, and does not show up as an active route. BUT when I click on it to see what is faulty, nothing shows up.
    Do you mean when you right-click and select View Errors and Warnings? Make sure that all the warning levels are selected - the buttons should be black, yellow, red and green.

    The KUID you have posted <kuid2:661281:100035:1> is a session, not a route, so it won't show up as an active route. It will show as a session within the list of sessions for the route it was created for.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •