.
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: More Invalidate Assets in Beta

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    United States of America, Pennsylvania, Murrysville
    Posts
    3,347
     

    Cool More Invalidate Assets in Beta

    I have a route in the 100240 version that has no errors or missing items. However when transferring that to the Beta it now has 51 missing items. Their sudden disappearance is troubling.
    Last edited by boleyd; October 21st, 2019 at 10:47 AM.
    Dick near Pittsburgh, Pa. i5-2500K 4.3ghz, 8gb memory, GTX1060 4gb video card

  2. #2

    Default

    They might be DLC assets or 3rd party assets you have not installed.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    United States of America, Pennsylvania, Murrysville
    Posts
    3,347
     

    Default

    They are installed since the stock version 100140 runs them without issues. The data base that the Beta is using is an exact copy of that data base. Is this a disaster - no. Is it annoying yes. Why is it done is probably the visual improvements prevent these assets from functioning. Is that absolutely necessary? I doubt it. But, the cost of treating each "invalid" asset to make it work with the beta, has been assessed as not justified. So older routes will continue to be harmed by improvements in the visual appeal of the product.

    If there was some commonality between the failed assets, it might make sense to run a conversion program that has less cost than that of individual asset treatments.
    Dick near Pittsburgh, Pa. i5-2500K 4.3ghz, 8gb memory, GTX1060 4gb video card

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Alabama, Birmingham
    Posts
    2,763
     

    Default

    I believe it was Tony that said "If it works as expected, there would be no need for testers".

    I doubt the assets were left out on purpose.

    William

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    United States of America, Pennsylvania, Murrysville
    Posts
    3,347
     

    Default

    I have not implied that there was possibly a malicious purpose. I do believe that there "may" have been an alternative as I suggested, or others. Giving N3V the benefit of the doubt then it is probable that the degree of difficulty, and the attendant cost, would not be justified. There is no reasonable way for customers to purchase individual remedies for this, or other conditions. It is, however, a waste of the customer's time determining the particular missing assets,finding, or selecting, replacements and installing them.

    I have become sort of used to this "development" procedure and, although I find it annoying, and a waste of my time, there is probably no way around it. The variety of issues in some assets, missing authors, et. all, preclude an acceptable remedy. So far the visual results have been good. Some things such as moving UNDO/REDO just do not make any sense. Maybe, someday, once all of the visual improvements have been exhausted N3V, can get to the serious stuff such as AI.
    Dick near Pittsburgh, Pa. i5-2500K 4.3ghz, 8gb memory, GTX1060 4gb video card

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Crewe, Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    15,207
     

    Default

    Checked Open for Edit and reverted anything in it to original?
    Malc


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, Qld
    Posts
    5,693
     

    Default

    However when transferring that to the Beta it now has 51 missing items.
    We'll need more information to assist.
    1. Please provide the detailed steps you took to "transfer".
    2. Please provide a list of the KUIDs (You can select them in CM and List assets in new window then group select the KUID listing at the top)
    Tony Hilliam

    Got questions about TRS19? Click here for TRS19 FAQs

    Looking for answers to in-game functionality? Click here for help

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    United States of America, Pennsylvania, Murrysville
    Posts
    3,347
     

    Default

    List of assets remaining to be resolved. They are all listed as <unknown>.
    "Transfer" was by way of a stored CDP copy of the route.



    <kuid:175455:101577>
    <kuid:506034:7880057>
    <kuid2:276266:100121:3>
    <kuid:-25:577>
    <kuid:178126:101608>
    <kuid2:146087:27101:127>
    <kuid:178126:101606>
    <kuid2:453099:100262:1>
    <kuid2:523:1972748:1>
    <kuid:178126:101339>
    <kuid2:124017:26042:3>
    <kuid:175455:200123>
    <kuid2:124017:26043:3>
    <kuid2:506034:7880056:1>
    <kuid2:506034:7880048:1>
    <kuid2:523:1972751:1>
    <kuid2:523:1972750:1>
    <kuid2:506034:770007:1>
    <kuid2:506034:7880055:1>
    <kuid2:523:1972758:1>
    <kuid2:276266:100149:1>
    <kuid:506034:479349>
    <kuid:506034:574680>
    <kuid:453099:100952>
    <kuid:175455:101576>
    Dick near Pittsburgh, Pa. i5-2500K 4.3ghz, 8gb memory, GTX1060 4gb video card

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Crewe, Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    15,207
     

    Default

    Did you get dependencies of dependencies? just collecting the route assets wont include any items that have dependencies unless you list dependencies recursively, some could be due to that especially if you are using third party content not from the DLS.

    Those 523s have probably been obsoleted? Check asset versions, in fact might be an idea to do that on all of them.
    Malc


  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    United States of America, Pennsylvania, Murrysville
    Posts
    3,347
     

    Default

    I have been thru this several times with the orange missing items. I am not a "Nit-Picker" about scenery. I just copy in something else for flavor. All I am looking for is a smooth process. If I ever get it, I fear I may become bored. As far as investigating the age to understand why an asset was discontinued, that is beyond my patience level. I have done the sitting on the side of the bed with a thick listing trying to coach the 3rd shift operator through some alteration of the code. Detail troubleshooting (hardware/software) for many years burned me out on that level. It is much more fun troubleshooting at a higher level. That is what I hoped to get with TRS19. Worry about scheduling some trains, with some weather, with some breakdowns, with some variations in customer orders, and so on. Managing variables seemed like fun when it related to a real world, present or past. Perhaps it will be fun....
    Dick near Pittsburgh, Pa. i5-2500K 4.3ghz, 8gb memory, GTX1060 4gb video card

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, Qld
    Posts
    5,693
     

    Default

    The simple solution is to copy your local data folder you use for 100240 and point your beta version to the newly created copy of the local data folder. The db repair will install everything that was installed previously. Nothing will be missing.

    By using - "Transfer" was by way of a stored CDP copy of the route is sounds you created a .cdp, and installed it and the .cdp didn't have all the items that were required (most likely missing recursive dependencies). So the system has done exactly what was asked of it and didn't install any items not in the .cdp.
    Tony Hilliam

    Got questions about TRS19? Click here for TRS19 FAQs

    Looking for answers to in-game functionality? Click here for help

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    United States of America, Pennsylvania, Murrysville
    Posts
    3,347
     

    Default

    Makes sense. I thought I tried the new version, and its copy of the database. That would have been the natural thing to do, but I may have been anxious to see the route in the new version. Anyhow, it was far from as bad as some previous similar updates.

    UNDO! hint.....
    Dick near Pittsburgh, Pa. i5-2500K 4.3ghz, 8gb memory, GTX1060 4gb video card

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    United States of America, Pennsylvania, Murrysville
    Posts
    3,347
     

    Default

    Success - Indeed, Do Not do anything except open a route after copying/moving a TRS19 database for use by the Beta version. A full recovery of all of the data from the original TRS19. Perhaps a caution in the instructions that -- Prior to etc.....
    Dick near Pittsburgh, Pa. i5-2500K 4.3ghz, 8gb memory, GTX1060 4gb video card

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •