First thoughts on the Fremont Switching route and session

bem2

I purchased the Fremont Switching route from Pacific Trainz a couple of days ago, and yesterday I installed the route and its two current sessions, Fremont Yard Switching and Branchline Cut Operations. Here are my initial thoughts after using the Fremont Yard Switching session for a little while. (Disclaimer: I'm fairly new to the Trainz world.)
  • Overall, I find the route layout enjoyable. It is relatively small, and should support many interesting switching operations.
  • I feel the scenery (trees, buildings, etc.) are adequate, but not extremely rich. I would like to see more "realism stuff" around the route (stacks of lumber, junk, construction equipment, etc.), but for me, a switching layout is more about the switching and less about the scenery, so this is not a big deal. If this were a long route like Murchison where one rides and watches for long distances, then more detailed scenery would be necessary.
  • I look forward to seeing industry labels in a future version. For example, the instructions for the Fremont Yard Switching session state that you are to collect the boxcars set out by the switcher at the Maxwell Shipping industry. However, the industries are not labeled. So, I looked for the switcher with boxcars and an industry nearby and assumed that the industry is Maxwell Shipping.
  • I noticed that at several crossings (perhaps all?), cars stopped or crossing gates dropped for my approaching train, but after the train was on the other side of the route, the cars were still stopped and the gates still down.
  • Nitpicking: The session instructions have numerous spelling and grammar errors, and the Branchline Cut Operations session shows up as Branchline cut Opertions in the content manager.

In conclusion, I am happy with my purchase of the route, but I look forward to getting its issues resolved in future updates.

Thanks to Jeremy at Pacific Trainz for his work on this route!