Does the DLS really work anymore

bigbern

I've been trying to get new content fro the DLS with no luck for nearly 2 months now. I have tried changing the settings on my content mananger with no luck. Sometimes I get a message that the server is full and other times I get a message saying that I am not registered. I have had a registered version of Trainz since the first original Trainz. I was thinking about buying a FCT because my internet time is very limited by my profession. I'm a long haul trucker and not all truck stops have wi-fi. If anyone can help, I'd be very grateful. Trainz was my escape from a very stressful job and now it has just become one more stressful thing in my life. Any ideas or suggestions
Thanks, Bernie

The DLS works for me, but I do get the Server Full message occasionally. Whenever I've purchased a FCT I always get faster access without any issues, but you might have to prod the Helpdesk a couple of times as sometimes the FCT doesn't activate properly.

Besides, shouldn't you be playing Truckz? ;)

I spend 2 months at a time on the road playing Truckz in real life. I need to play something to forget work not remind me of it.....lol

Timing, Timing and Timing

Based on own experience in a much different employment situation, three things that semi-work:

(1) Certain times of day/days of the calendar week are less busy. Late night/early morning weekends in the Western Hemisphere are most likely, though not guaranteed. There also seems to be a "supper gap" early evening in (approximately) Central Standard Time which can be exploited, but not every day. After an N3V service pack update when everyone's trying to download it *and* re-downloading their content because installing it disabled their databases, you may be out of luck for a week or more.