A Bit Disappointed . . . Improving Performance

rkillins

Hi folks. I am new to Trainz Simulator 12 and am quite excited about operating the trains as well as hopefully jumping into route building.

I have to admit, I am a bit disappointed, not with the software but with the poor performance of my computer to run this application smoothly. When I try to play, the display lags miserably, very jumpy, not at all fluid. AS it is, it's not very entertaining, rather more frustrating. I'm hoping someone might be able to provide some tips on improving performance considering my system, or tell me that my expectations are higher than what is capable. I am able to run FSX, DX10, in windowed mode quite well with a locked 30FPS with this system.

My System:

Processor
3.40 gigahertz Intel Core i7-2600K, 256 kilobyte primary memory cache, 1024 kilobyte secondary memory cache, 8192 kilobyte tertiary memory cache, 64-bit ready, Multi-core (4 total), Hyper-threaded (8 total)

Main Board
ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. P8Z77-V Rev 1.xx, Bus Clock: 100 megahertz, UEFI: American Megatrends Inc. 1805 12/19/2012
Memory
8140 Megabytes Usable Installed Memory
Display Adapter
NVIDIA GeForce 8500 GT [Secondary adapter]
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 Ti [Primary adapter]

Displays
3x Acer A231H Monitors (connection via primary adapter in Nvidia Surround Mode with recommended resolution 5760x1080x32 60Hz)
1x Acer X193W Monitor (connected via secondary adapter with native resolution 1440x900x32)
Storage
WDC WD10EARX-32N0YB0 [Hard drive] (1000.20 GB), 781.33 GB free
Other
Corsair H60 liquid cooler

Software
Windows 7 Home Premium (x64) Service Pack 1 (build 7601)
Trainz Simulator 12 (61349), DirectX, Display Resolution: 5760x1080, Bit Depth: 32, fullscreen, Aspect Ratio: Autodetect, Antialias Mode: 2, Vertical Sync: Auto, Frequency:60, Disable Hardware TL: unchecked, Shadows:checked, Vertex Offset slider: midway