.
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Creating additions to a route with TranzDEM

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    United States of America, California, San Luis Obispo county
    Posts
    277
     

    Default Creating additions to a route with TranzDEM

    TransDEM easily lets you divide a long route you are creating into several projects by defining common boundaries that match in each project.

    But surely I'm not the only person who has used TransDEM to create an addition that can be merged with a route to add a few baseboards to a specific area of an existing route without using the boundary method.

    In one instance I was working with a mountain route that needed some extra baseboards to improve the view. I didn't want to discard all the work that I'd already done on the route and start over. Using the same DEM and geo-referenced maps, but not loading the original poly lines, I made a short poly line over the area of interest to get TransDEM to export a small patch as separate route. Then exported it into Trainz, where I removed individual baseboards until the new 'patch' matched the edge of the existing route exactly and merged them together.

    I've also done the same thing to add a branch line to a completed route. In another instance I added an extension to a route downloaded from the Download Station.

    Surely others have done this too. Right?
    Last edited by OddRails; November 18th, 2021 at 09:56 AM.
    Dave

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Columbus, Oh USA -by the Weber Connection!
    Posts
    1,197
     

    Default

    Three of my routes are combinations of different DEMs from different places, height shifted of course.
    Check out my grungy electric piano based band, "Small Movies" at http://wearesmallmovies.com/

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    United States of America, California, San Luis Obispo county
    Posts
    277
     

    Default

    I've shifted the height of a DEM to get around the 3000m elevation limit in an older version of Trainz. But I haven't height shifted a DEM to match another one. Thanks for pointing that out.
    Dave

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Columbus, Oh USA -by the Weber Connection!
    Posts
    1,197
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by OddRails View Post
    I've shifted the height of a DEM to get around the 3000m elevation limit in an older version of Trainz. But I haven't height shifted a DEM to match another one. Thanks for pointing that out.
    TransDEM no longer adjusts route height unfortunately. I have a copy of TANE SP1 just for this purpose.
    Check out my grungy electric piano based band, "Small Movies" at http://wearesmallmovies.com/

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    31,459
     

    Default

    I do it all the time.

    I've also done what-if scenarios by putting in tracks were none existed. I keep roads and buildings in place as much as possible and work the tracks into the various towns and alongside roads as needed. When completed, this can produce some amazing results.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    TRS2019/Trainz-PLUS: 114800
    TRS22 Beta tester

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Columbus, Oh USA -by the Weber Connection!
    Posts
    1,197
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JCitron View Post
    I do it all the time.

    I've also done what-if scenarios by putting in tracks were none existed. I keep roads and buildings in place as much as possible and work the tracks into the various towns and alongside roads as needed. When completed, this can produce some amazing results.
    Same here, mainly with my route based on Madison, Indiana. Freelance is more fun!
    Check out my grungy electric piano based band, "Small Movies" at http://wearesmallmovies.com/

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Portland, Oregon USA
    Posts
    672
     

    Default

    Want a real volcano as background for a route?

    Using Google Maps or Earth, find a likely subject - island volcanos work best. Try Aleutian islands, Japan, Kamchatka, etc.

    Create a volcano-only route in Transdem, trim as needed and merge into your existing route. I have done this numerous times.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •