.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18

Thread: Computer issues stops virtual railroading.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    United States of America, VA, Richmond
    Posts
    3,062
     

    Angry Computer issues stops virtual railroading.

    Of all of the worst of bad news, I am already tired but now very angry so, I will be temporary out of commission due in part to my Dell laptop and possibly Microsoft's bad updates oh and I just forgot the awful blue screen of death, I tried the built-in PC repair and restarting, both are no dice,
    prior starting up ,so until either the issue is resolved, or in the worst case a new computer.
    Last edited by UP5521; September 13th, 2021 at 06:20 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,280
     

    Default

    Hi,
    Sorry to hear you problem:-
    Can you get a win 10 repair download onto a USB stick? ( Another pc, friend etc?)
    Then use the bios settings to boot from the usb?

    Colin

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    United States of America, VA, Richmond
    Posts
    3,062
     

    Default

    Nope, thanks, though, tried using the command prompt under the windows tools setting in a failed attempt to fix it but it did not work, my only option at this point now is a new laptop, all of the steam engines, rolling stock and others are on the failed system and most likely gone, again, thanks Microsoft for bricking it and a flawed windows product!
    Last edited by UP5521; September 14th, 2021 at 06:32 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Canada, Ontario, Ottawa
    Posts
    14,055
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by UP5521 View Post
    Nope, thanks, though, tried using the command prompt under the windows tools setting in a failed attempt to fix it but it did not work, my only option at this point now is a new laptop, all of the steam engines, rolling stock and others are on the failed system and most likely gone, again, thanks Microsoft for bricking it and a flawed windows product!

    You can get a USB adapter which you can plug in your hard drive and extract the files that way. If you have a Microsoft account on the machine then I'd try dropping in a new hard drive or SSD. Use https://www.microsoft.com/en-ca/soft...load/windows10 to get an ISO image which can be used to reinstall Windows 10. https://www.crucial.com/catalog/accessories you want the
    Crucial Easy Laptop Data Transfer Cable for 2.5-inch SSDs


    Post in parts and labour.
    Cheerio John



  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2020
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    555
     

    Default

    I hope we have a Linux (Even though Mac is based off of the Linux kernel, it's still, in my eyes, not Linux) version of TRS waiting in the background somewhere, I'd ditch Windows any time if Trainz was on Linux!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    30,178
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DARTrider View Post
    I hope we have a Linux (Even though Mac is based off of the Linux kernel, it's still, in my eyes, not Linux) version of TRS waiting in the background somewhere, I'd ditch Windows any time if Trainz was on Linux!
    The same can occur with Linux so there's no panacea here. Back in my IT days, I worked with the Solaris administrator to rebuild a Sun server because the supposedly live update process was supposed to work fine and it didn't. As always, backups were my friend. Once we had the OS up and running, I untarred the data and repopulated the data folders. Being more than a few gigs, this took longer than the server rebuild.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    T:ANE Build: 94829
    TRS2019/Trainz-PLUS: 109641

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    United States of America, Tennessee, Chattanooga
    Posts
    701
    Blog Entries
    1
     

    Default

    Windows 10 on my Acer computer last April of 2020 had to be reinstalled after my pc was stuck on automatic repair loop but the good thing is that I had both TANE & Trainz 19 backed up on an external HDD
    - Micah

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    United States of America, VA, Richmond
    Posts
    3,062
     

    Default

    Thanks for understanding, guys, don't worry, I'll be back hopefully soon once I get a new laptop with a faster processor and more storage space

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, New York, Allegany
    Posts
    1,875
    Blog Entries
    2
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by johnwhelan View Post
    You can get a USB adapter which you can plug in your hard drive and extract the files that way. If you have a Microsoft account on the machine then I'd try dropping in a new hard drive or SSD. Use https://www.microsoft.com/en-ca/soft...load/windows10 to get an ISO image which can be used to reinstall Windows 10. https://www.crucial.com/catalog/accessories you want the
    Crucial Easy Laptop Data Transfer Cable for 2.5-inch SSDs



    Post in parts and labour.
    Cheerio John


    Hi John,
    I have about a 4 year old Windows 10 desk top. I had a major problem with a windows 10 update a couple years or so ago, that wiped a lot of my saved files.
    I'm curious, in ups521's case, you mentioned a usb adapter plugged into a new HD or SSD and also having a Microsoft account. Why is the Microsoft accounts necessary ?
    Thanks,
    Jim
    T:ANE Standard SP2 to SP3
    TRS 2012 build 61388

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Canada, Ontario, Ottawa
    Posts
    14,055
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JimDep View Post
    Hi John,
    I have about a 4 year old Windows 10 desk top. I had a major problem with a windows 10 update a couple years or so ago, that wiped a lot of my saved files.
    I'm curious, in ups521's case, you mentioned a usb adapter plugged into a new HD or SSD and also having a Microsoft account. Why is the Microsoft accounts necessary ?
    Thanks,
    Jim
    If you use something like win 7 backup and have a system image and a recovery CD / dvd it isn't necessary. However if you don't then having a Microsoft account on the machine means Microsoft have a record of it and you can reinstall windows without having to buy a new license.

    I use a Ugreen hard drive enclosure, it has a power button on it with a 4 TB drive inside. I back up using it once a week and I also keep a system image on it. When it is not being used for back up it is off line which means malware cannot encrypt it.

    Cheerio John

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,280
     

    Default

    Our old laptop got stuck in a Win 10 loop of checking & correcting file clusters for >24 hours...
    Bought a Crucial SSD, installed the SSD in place of the original, win 10 re-installed and is better performance than original.
    There's a utility to copy old HDD to SSD s el.

    Colin

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Crewe, Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    17,198
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by johnwhelan View Post
    If you use something like win 7 backup and have a system image and a recovery CD / dvd it isn't necessary. However if you don't then having a Microsoft account on the machine means Microsoft have a record of it and you can reinstall windows without having to buy a new license.

    I use a Ugreen hard drive enclosure, it has a power button on it with a 4 TB drive inside. I back up using it once a week and I also keep a system image on it. When it is not being used for back up it is off line which means malware cannot encrypt it.

    Cheerio John
    Don't need a Microsoft Account, all Win 10 PCs are digitally licenced and will activate regardless of if you have a Microsoft account or not, Microsoft have recommended you do not use Win7 backup in Win10, somewhat puzzling why it's still there, but suggest using use third party solutions, that means the likes of Macrium Reflect, Paragon AOMEI etc. Laptops and OEM PCs in the last few years have the key embedded in the bios anyway so there probably wouldn't be a problem.
    8GB USB thumb drives are easier for recovery drives as 90% of PC's in the last 4 years don't have DVD drives, the Win 10 ISOs are too big for a DVD now unless you create them with the Media Creation tool - https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/soft...d/windows10%20 scroll down.

    I don't suppose a note was made of whatever the BSOD error was?

    I have 4 PCs and use two USB3 4TB powered externals and double backup up system drives using Macrium Reflect keeping 4 Copies of each C drive and Trainz / content creating stuff / and important stuff is synchronized again twice using Free File Sync. Drives are connected to one of the PC's and networked to the others but turned off when not in use, USB connectors do not like being constantly being plugged and unplugged so they are permanently connected but unpowered. Takes around 5 minutes to backup the C Drive on this PC. OS's I back up weekly, Trainz when I've done work on them, which could be daily at some times.

    Using 2 4TB drives paid off a month ago when one died on me, I have now replaced it.
    Malc


  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, New York, Allegany
    Posts
    1,875
    Blog Entries
    2
     

    Default

    Thanks john and Malc for all the technical info.
    Appreciate it !
    Jim
    T:ANE Standard SP2 to SP3
    TRS 2012 build 61388

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    United States of America, VA, Richmond
    Posts
    3,062
     

    Default

    It had something to do with the boot device, I don't know what is going on at Microsoft but I do know this, the update should never have been released without extensive testing for bugs that can kill a computer, now I'm evt scared to update to windows 11.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Ohio
    Posts
    4,366
     

    Default

    This is one of the handiest thing you can buy for your computer:

    https://www.amazon.com/StarTech-com-.../dp/B00HJZJI84

    I have two of these as well. Great if you have some older IDE Drives lying around for backup purposes.

    https://www.amazon.com/Vantec-CB-ISA.../dp/B000J01I1G

    Bill
    Last edited by HiBaller; September 18th, 2021 at 07:57 PM.
    Bill (USN, Retired) Into computers over 58 years - Trainzer since: 2003
    ID: 202442
    T:ANE (SP4) OR TRS2019 (111951)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •