.
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Computer performance

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    42
     

    Default Computer performance

    I am replacing my old Desktop PC with a Dell Inspiron 3670. This PC features the following specs "8th Gen Intel® Core™ i5, 12GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive, Windows® 10"

    I am nearly positive that this is still to weak to smoothly function with TRS19, however I am wondering how well this would perform with the latest versions of T:ANE, or what version would work best, functioning at a good FPS. The one I currently have is a dinosaur, a Dell optiplex 3010, which runs TRS12 at a fair level, but still too low for any version of T:ANE. I would love to hear some response so I know what version of the game to purchase.

    Thank you!


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    New Caledonia
    Posts
    3,462
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cnjman765 View Post
    I am nearly positive that this is still to weak to smoothly function with TRS19, however I am wondering how well this would perform with the latest versions of T:ANE, or what version would work best, functioning at a good FPS.
    Trainz performance is more dependant on the graphics card (GPU) than it is on the processor (CPU). You should indicate what graphics card is being provided with that system, and how much graphics RAM it includes.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    42
     

    Default

    From what I can find, it's a Nvidia GTX 1060. I myself don't know much about computers, but from what I'm reading on it it's pretty good(?)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Canada, Ontario, Ottawa
    Posts
    13,654
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cnjman765 View Post
    From what I can find, it's a Nvidia GTX 1060. I myself don't know much about computers, but from what I'm reading on it it's pretty good(?)

    Look at the G series Dell desktops. NVIDIA® GeForce RTX™ 2070 8GB is in one of the boxing day deals. https://www.dell.com/en-ca/shop/gami...s-5090-desktop

    Dell Inspiron 3670 I'd hesitate on. The latest dells are gen 9 not gen 8 and I'm not convinced that a GTX 1660 is available on this machine. Nor that the power supply and cooling are sufficient.

    I suspect I'd prefer to buy direct from Dell.

    https://www.videocardbenchmark.net/gpu_list.php and yes the 1660 has a 3D scroe of 10,000 so it's in the ball park.

    Cheerio John

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    42
     

    Default

    Thanks for the response. I already purchased it, so I can't change it unfortunately. I suppose I'm not looking for the best experience trainz has to offer since I'm simply not in the budget for that, so there must be some version of T:ANE, older or newer, that works best with the machine that I bought?

    Thanks again

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Location
    Quarantining Since March 1st In Front Of My PC
    Posts
    1,102
     

    Default

    Turn down all your performance sliders to minimum, and adjust them up, one by one, until you get bad framerates, then turn them, one at a time, down a tad, or all the way down, until framerates improve. Hopefully you will find a sweet spot setting
    Last edited by MP242; December 21st, 2019 at 04:37 PM.
    Please, all I ask, please wear a mask

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Canada, Ontario, Ottawa
    Posts
    13,654
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cnjman765 View Post
    Thanks for the response. I already purchased it, so I can't change it unfortunately. I suppose I'm not looking for the best experience trainz has to offer since I'm simply not in the budget for that, so there must be some version of T:ANE, older or newer, that works best with the machine that I bought?

    Thanks again

    Run belarc on it and let's see what GPU you have. https://belarc.com/en/products_belarc_advisor

    If it is a GTX 1060 then you're fine. Otherwise its dependent on content. For example Middleton for laptops will run fine. Middleton with canal is a maybe. Traditionally setting shadows off and setting the sliders to min is a reasonable starting point if you just have the intel 630 GPU.

    Cheerio John

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Crewe, Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    16,353
     

    Default

    There is a Dell 3670 with a GTX1060 here https://www.amazon.com/Dell-Inspiron.../dp/B07L16NLHH Plenty of them on Google.
    Malc


  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    42
     

    Default

    Thanks all! I may follow up in the coming days to say how it goes. Great help!

    John

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Canada, Ontario, Ottawa
    Posts
    13,654
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by clam1952 View Post
    There is a Dell 3670 with a GTX1060 here https://www.amazon.com/Dell-Inspiron.../dp/B07L16NLHH Plenty of them on Google.

    Yes but that one is used and not from Dell.

    The standard power supply is 290 watts. In the standard case you need a low profile card. A 1660 would be nice but I strongly suspect only 1650 cards are available in low profile.

    Cheerio John

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •