Trainz purchased on Steam - advantages/disadvantages

fattymoon

(Before I post, I apologize in advance if I chose the wrong forum for this. If a moderator wishes to move it, that's fine with me.)

First off, I'm quite new to Trainz. I purchased Trainz 12 at Steam after debating whether to purchase it or Railworks 2. I think it was someone on a forum here who helped me decide. He said (I'm paraphrasing) that Railworks 2 was a real-world simulator while Trainz was a model railroad simulator. My dad and I built a model railroad in the attic when I was 10 (I'm 64 now) so of course I chose Trainz. (I love real railroads too... in fact I live just a couple miles from some train tracks which run through Las Cruces, New Mexico.)

So... I've been playing Trainz 12 the past few days and having an absolute ball. Now comes the problem. Auran sent me a discount voucher for the Blue Comet and The Duchess. I thought to myself, how cool! So I purchased both and successfully downloaded but, when I attempted to install, it was a no-go. I sent Auran support my problem and Zek replied within hours (thanks for the rapid response, Zek!), noting that the Steam versions of Trainz "are only compatible with add-on packs purchased via Steam." He added that he would send my request for a refund to the shop admin.

OK then, there's a huge disadvantage... and, to the best of my knowledge, this fact is not posted on Steam, nor is it posted on Auran (unless I missed it). But, there's more... this being the case, does that mean that because I own a Steam version of Trainz that I'm excluded from the wealth of downloads here on Auran? This is of great importance to me, so I hope someone will be able to give me a definitive answer to that question.

Finally, are there any advantages to purchasing Trainz via Steam? (There's one I know of... apparently Trainz 12 is automatically updated... I noticed the build number jumped from 46957 to 47103.)