Time for a new PC

justinroth

It's been a while since I have looked into computer specs..heck, I graduated with a minor in computer technologies when vista came out lol. Anyway, I am looking to spend around $800-$900, including windows 7 64bit. I already have 2012 installed on a 150G intel ssd, and I have a 450W rosewill PS..my guess is that isn't going to be enough power. So I will need a barebones kit, might as well throw in another ssd for the OS. I don't need a new monitor just yet, I am not factoring that into price. I am also not too concerned about running t:ane either, just 2012 very smoothly. My confusion lies in what processor to get, I have always been an Intel guy..so I would probably go with that and a geforce card. Just not sure what type will fit with which mobo, direct X versions, enough space in the case, the difference of connectors (pci e ect)and ect. Any help and suggestions would be appreciated! TY.

here is a kit from portatech I threw together,
$1,036.64
Barebones w/ Intel Core i7 (Socket 1150) w/ Core i7 4790K (4 x 4.4GHz CPU - 8MB Cache +1250MHz Graphics)
Asus B85M-E CSM MOBO
Performance Cooling Package
16GB DDR3-1600 Memory (2 x 8GB Kit)
120GB SATA3 Solid State Drive (SSD)
Antec Clean Look Mid Tower Case
700W Power Supply
Windows 7 Pro
nVidia GeForce GTX750 - 2GB
Standard - Build, Burn-in, Test & Ship Out in Approx 3 to 5 Business Days
1 Year Manufacturers Repair / Replacement Warranty

Last edited:
As far as that spec list you've thrown together is concerned, there are some key points that make no sense:

You're paring a last-gen overclocking ready CPU with a B85 chipset. This will not allow you to overclock the CPU, negating the one selling point of a K series part, for Haswell you'll need either z87 or z97 chipset boards. For Skylake (current gen) you'll need a z170 chipset mainboard.