Organizing Assets. Best Way[?]

GizmoGorilla

Im fairly new to trainz and slowly learning...but the thing I have greatest difficulty with is remembering where assets are and their names, to build my layout. I know that I can set up a hot list for rolling stock/engines and that works great for quick selection, but what about things like track side objects and buildings. Can they too be hotlisted. I also know that I can use the tool to click on an asset to call it up in the asset list, thats good, but only for assets currently in use. I find that a lot of the names given to these objects are not intuitive (to me). There doesnt seem to be any naming convention. For example, a roundhouse, can be found in items starting with "C"' as in CNR Roundhouse. Same thing for a turntable. I found one under "N" for "NSW Turntable", vs "T" for just turntable. Some of the names I look at are totally meaningless to me and require that I click on them to see what they are. It would make more sense, and be easier to locate items if they started with their common name for example..."Turntable NSW" & "Turntable CNR" or "RoundHouse CNR". I have found myself having to write down these names for later reference. Is there a better way to organize & access these assets, or does everyone just deal with it?

Trainz2006
Norm