Old User Looking to Jump Back In

trainboy1094

Hello everyone!

This is quite the blast from the past for me. I started playing Trainz way back when my dad installed either Trainz SP3 or UTC on our home computer for me to play with. I played 2004, 2006, 2009, and gave Trainz 2010 a little bit of play right when it first came out, but for a number of reasons, I slowly lost interest in virtual railroading and moved on to other things. My last post on here was almost 4 years ago!

Just the other day, however, something caught my eye. I saw the screenshots of the new Nickel Plate steam DLC and was completely floored by how beautiful it looked. When I played Trainz religiously, I was using an old, relatively under-powered PC, but I have since invested in a computer that should be capable of playing just about anything. I must say, I am dying to give that locomotive a try. I still have my boxed copy of TS2010 sitting here on my desk, but I noticed that the DLC requires TS12, so I guess my question is, would it be worth the $60 it will cost me to get a copy of TS12 plus the DLC?

Also, I have been exploring the past few days, and it strikes me that there is a lot of "official" payware now. JointedRail seems to have a close partnership with N3V (I have to stop myself from referring to the game's developer as Auran). Has the games content community shifted to payware being the most common form of content, like *insert current name evolution of Kuju's Rail Simulator here*? Another concern off the top of my head: How is TS12 with backwards compatability? I believe I might still have some old payware saved on a drive that was built for 2004 or 2006. Any chances that will work with 2012?

Sorry, I know that I have asked a lot! Thanks in advance for any help! Glad to be back! :)

Mike

Welcome back.