Is it transdem or me?

PWillard

So, I used transdem for the first time. I used OpenStreetMaps and DEMS from Nasa using the 30M SRTM data selection from http://dwtkns.com/srtm30m/.

4GbsV1C.jpg

So did I mess up?

My rail splines are below the OSM texture and are clearly off center from the OSM position (off position to the south by like 10 meters or so)

(Maybe I should not use OSM? Or not use 30M SRTM?)

Disclaimer: I use TrainzDem but I am not an expert at it. I lay track manually. I use only 30m SRTM data obtained from the same website you use.

But in my opinion, you did not mess up, and it is not an Open Street Map problem, nor is it a TrainzDem problem either.

Using 30m SRTM data is a trade-off. Others more experienced with TrainzDem may suggest a data source with finer granularity to try, but then it requires much larger files.

I think what you have right now is 99.99% just fine, and now you just need to fine tune it by playing with the track spline points (location and elevation).

Hopefully geophil (author of TrainzDem) will see this and comment as well.

Last edited:
It's not you. I've had this occur as well. I think it has something to do with the textures because once I textured the map with dirt, grass, and ballast the tracks appeared.

Thank you to everyone for letting me know... I agree, that video is really helpful...

Last edited:
Pete,

Is that MA Rt. 133 or Rt 135?

I live near Rt. 133 that's why I ask. The intersection looks familiar.

I used to live a few blocks from there... that's RT135 downtown Framingham. I was often hanging out at the 2 nearby rail yards as a kid.

FYI: I'm going to try OSM textures again with slightly closer zoom level.

I used to live a few blocks from there... that's RT135 downtown Framingham. I was often hanging out at the 2 nearby rail yards as a kid.

FYI: I'm going to try OSM textures again with slightly closer zoom level.