Hard Drive Question ...

djpip

Hi all,

I have no knowledge of Hard Drives but I posted this infomation about a month ago ...

[SIZE=-1] IDE Channel : #1 - Master Drive
Model : Maxtor 6Y080L0
Serial Number : Y2DW0MKE
Revision : YAR41BW0
Serial ATA : No
Support : ATA/ATAPI-7
Size : 82 GB

This Hard drive is now nearly full and I wondered if this any of these would work ...

[/SIZE]http://www.maplin.co.uk/module.aspx?ModuleNo=97409&doy=29m1

Cheers,

DJ PIP

I've put together some detailed hints on obtaining more hard disk space here.

(I hope nobody in charge here minds me posting that link, if so please remove it.)

John

get the hard drive and transfer as much as possible to it(games etc) leave system drivers alone. I have transfered trainz from one drive to another within the same disc (partitioned) using Disk Management. perhaps once you have the new drive it might be possible to move them using that .
you need at least 16% free space for defragmenting .
The faster the RPM on the new hard drive the quicker the data transfer rate.

Hi all,

I have no knowledge of Hard Drives but I posted this infomation about a month ago ...

[SIZE=-1] IDE Channel : #1 - Master Drive
Model : Maxtor 6Y080L0
Serial Number : Y2DW0MKE
Revision : YAR41BW0
Serial ATA : No
Support : ATA/ATAPI-7
Size : 82 GB

This Hard drive is now nearly full and I wondered if this any of these would work ...

[/SIZE]http://www.maplin.co.uk/module.aspx?ModuleNo=97409&doy=29m1

Cheers,

DJ PIP

A more interesting question would be what is your current machine and are you happy opening the case? Some machines have nowhere to add an internal drive, some IBMs are like this.

ebuyer.co.uk might be a better source but you can buy external hard drives that plug into a und cable if you aren't comfortable opening the case.

Cheerio John

Another Question !

Hi,

I am quite confident with opening the hood of my machine, just I know nothing of hard drives.