.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21

Thread: Ship Turntable?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, New York, Plattsburgh
    Posts
    252
     

    Default Ship Turntable?

    Greetings All I Need some help here!
    I have been racking my brain trying to get a working turntable for a container ship so I can back into the slip The NL.interactive drivable container ship something or another. The ship is 600ft long,According to the ruler,I have Vulcan's aircraft turntables and an invisible one made for ships..problem is i believe its too small the arrows disappear so I added a turntable command and use buoys inline with the arrows...yet for nothing I cannot get it to turn I think the ship is just too long.any suggestions? I tried a Y that wont work the curves are too sharp and the bay is too small the sip (derails) its the Tidewater North map by the way the small bay by the large bridge.
    any suggestions would be helpful thanks.
    The light at the end of the tunnel ,is the light of an oncomming train.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    United States of America, Connecticut, Storrs
    Posts
    2,158
     

    Default

    Make a bigger wye.
    OS: Win7 SP1 x64 Home Premium
    System Model: HP Pavilion dm4t-2100
    TS12SP1HF4, build 61388 (clean & dirty)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Monte Nido, CA
    Posts
    2,172
     

    Default

    You can back the ship into the bay and drive it forwards out.
    What's the point of having drivable ships anyway? I mean, it's a Train ​simulator.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    867
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by boyerm25 View Post
    You can back the ship into the bay and drive it forwards out.
    What's the point of having drivable ships anyway? I mean, it's a Train ​simulator.

    No! the phrase is 'it's a train simulator you know!!
    Good luck to all the drivable ship users in Trainz. No idea if my drivable boats and drivable horse drawn narrow boats still work, as made about 2004. My complex docks may still work. Former drivable ship creator and creator of drivable ship routes in Trainz. Now make similar docks and coastal routes c1800-c1833 in Blender Game Engine. Barry
    Last edited by Barry; July 6th, 2012 at 10:31 AM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    2,228
     

    Default

    OK. I've been thinking about how to do this, because eventually I, too, wish to have container ships docking, and also represent river barges with towboats. Among the resources I have made use of are the videos at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f1PTYOIgYFo and at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ARPHvX4Ijw8, which demonstrate that docking a containership is under the control of tugboats, not under its own power. In my view, you're on a better path with the Y than the turntable, and if the other legs of the Y won't fit in the bay, the ship would back out (or back in and head out forward) further, so extend the leg of the Y which comes up to the slip.

    Another thought: I don't know exactly how long it takes to load and unload containers from the ship, process them, and then load or unload containers from a train, but I expect that in the real world it's not a matter of driving the train up to the ship and loading the ship from the train. I'd guess that if a container is booked to sail on a ship that's leaving, that the container has to be in the port a significant period of time in advance--perhaps 24 hours, so that there is time to process all necessary paperwork, inspect the container, and get it staged in the appropriate location in the container port. It also takes a significant amount of time (probably measured in days) to load and unload a containership. With this in mind, it might be worth considering the containership a kind of scenery item (unless YOU want to drive it) so that for several consecutive trips the ship is there, and then it is gone for an extended period. Keep in mind, too, that containership routes are measured in weeks. If the ship is at a particular port today, the same ship will not be back at the same port for 10, 12, or more weeks. The ship there next week might look similar, but it is not the same ship.

    ns

    ns
    Last edited by mjolnir; July 6th, 2012 at 01:43 PM. Reason: additional content
    M.U.T.O.T.T.

    I've found the key to world peace a dozen times. Unfortunately, they keep changing the lock.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, New York, Plattsburgh
    Posts
    252
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mjolnir View Post
    OK. I've been thinking about how to do this, because eventually I, too, wish to have container ships docking, and also represent river barges with towboats. Among the resources I have made use of are the videos at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f1PTYOIgYFo and at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ARPHvX4Ijw8, which demonstrate that docking a containership is under the control of tugboats, not under its own power. In my view, you're on a better path with the Y than the turntable, and if the other legs of the Y won't fit in the bay, the ship would back out (or back in and head out forward) further, so extend the leg of the Y which comes up to the slip.

    Another thought: I don't know exactly how long it takes to load and unload containers from the ship, process them, and then load or unload containers from a train, but I expect that in the real world it's not a matter of driving the train up to the ship and loading the ship from the train. I'd guess that if a container is booked to sail on a ship that's leaving, that the container has to be in the port a significant period of time in advance--perhaps 24 hours, so that there is time to process all necessary paperwork, inspect the container, and get it staged in the appropriate location in the container port. It also takes a significant amount of time (probably measured in days) to load and unload a containership. With this in mind, it might be worth considering the containership a kind of scenery item (unless YOU want to drive it) so that for several consecutive trips the ship is there, and then it is gone for an extended period. Keep in mind, too, that containership routes are measured in weeks. If the ship is at a particular port today, the same ship will not be back at the same port for 10, 12, or more weeks. The ship there next week might look similar, but it is not the same ship.

    ns

    ns
    Yes in the real world that's how it works I have been on large ships.
    Loading is easy the ship is basically its own consist in a boat skin so it uses the Same industry
    I use the muli industry set up for containers and set it to load in an hour or so.
    The problem is its long so it needs lots of room to turn and large curves that's why I was looking to use a turntable. Tugs would not help as the "ship" needs track under it.
    The light at the end of the tunnel ,is the light of an oncomming train.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    5,427
    Blog Entries
    2
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by boyerm25 View Post
    You can back the ship into the bay and drive it forwards out.
    What's the point of having drivable ships anyway? I mean, it's a Train ​simulator.
    Well gee. Ships unload and load containers which are then put on trains do they not? I suppose it adds realism to it. I have a working airport with drivable planes on some of my routes and I use these to look at the trains, and when you look up and see a plane it adds a sense of realism. So, it is a Train simulator, but the sim also tries to be realistic


    ​Jamie



  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Monte Nido, CA
    Posts
    2,172
     

    Default

    Oh, you know, that does sound fun. Is ould try that...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, New York, Plattsburgh
    Posts
    252
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by boyerm25 View Post
    Oh, you know, that does sound fun. Is ould try that...
    Yes I deliver the containers. By train and they load on the ship now all weneed is
    mod a turntable to fit a 165ft (train) ship.
    The light at the end of the tunnel ,is the light of an oncomming train.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Tennessee, Lewisburg
    Posts
    5,475
     

    Default

    I've made a number of turntables and see no reason why a large one can't be made. I do however see a potential operational problem. The 2 red curved arrows that control it are fixed in position and would almost certainly be underneath the ships hull and possibly unseen. They would be there tho so I guess if you click about where you think they are you should eventually hit them but thats probably not what folks would want to do.

    BTW - - - the opposite is also true. Some time ago I made some broad gauge turntables that were only about 16 to 20 ft in diameter. I found out they were very hard to control because the red arrows were not on top of any part of the mesh. I had to add a larger diameter part (hidden underground) so the red arrows would be on top of the mesh and remain visible when you went to click on one.

    Ben
    Trestle Man

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, New York, Plattsburgh
    Posts
    252
     

    Smile

    Quote Originally Posted by bendorsey View Post
    I've made a number of turntables and see no reason why a large one can't be made. I do however see a potential operational problem. The 2 red curved arrows that control it are fixed in position and would almost certainly be underneath the ships hull and possibly unseen. They would be there tho so I guess if you click about where you think they are you should eventually hit them but that's probably not what folks would want to do.

    BTW - - - the opposite is also true. Some time ago I made some broad gauge turntables that were only about 16 to 20 ft in diameter. I found out they were very hard to control because the red arrows were not on top of any part of the mesh. I had to add a larger diameter part (hidden underground) so the red arrows would be on top of the mesh and remain visible when you went to click on one.

    Ben
    That is why you put a buoy or some water type object for reference (I use a shark) at the arrows as reference and use the turntable rule problem solved. That is a handy rule i never mess wit arrows for any turntable. If you could make one that would be great the ship/train I use is called the Usa /NL - Drivable ship Nedlloy Rouen container Ship
    The light at the end of the tunnel ,is the light of an oncomming train.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Monte Nido, CA
    Posts
    2,172
     

    Default

    Is it on the DLS?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Tennessee, Lewisburg
    Posts
    5,475
     

    Default

    Good iea about the shark and a bouy at each ends of the TT might be a good idea so you don't have the boat partially on and partially off the TT when you activate it.

    How large in diameter do you want it and just 2 setpoints (0 and 180 degrees)?

    I assume it goes under water (and possibly under the sea floor) so I need to know how deep you want it. It must have at least one physical part or you get a "nothing to export" error (tho this probably needs two ( something big enough so the red arrorws work properly and a simple part for the spinner (both underground).

    I don't need a drivable ship as I can test it with a loco. Might look weird but will work for testing purposes (its what I do when testing bridges setup to open at the approach of a boat).

    Ben
    Trestle Man

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, New York, Plattsburgh
    Posts
    252
     

    Default

    Well I have been using a smaller invisible turntable that was on the DLS that would be perfect it was made for Boats/ferry's the tracks connect higher as its meant for water it just needs to be longer.KUID2:60697:28003:1 I measured the ship with the ruler tool it was 168ft I would say 170-200 ft because I don't know where the contact points or (bogeys) are located in the thing and yes just 0 and 180 as far as depth? who knows if its invisible you could place it at the track level i guess I am not sure.I think it will be a valuable asset for those who love making ports.
    Thanks
    The light at the end of the tunnel ,is the light of an oncomming train.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Tennessee, Lewisburg
    Posts
    5,475
     

    Default

    Ok on 200 ft diameter and 2 setpoints but the invisible track level is very important. My auto bridges that open at the approach of a boat use -10 meters (32 ft 9 in) and ground level. It all depends on how the boat you plan to use it setup. There are some standards (sorta). Vulcans fantastical boats (and others) have a set I'm sure for example.

    I'd suggest you run a little test. Set your boat on ground level track and see how it looks. Is it floating above thre ground, sunk into the ground, or about right? Adjust the track height if necessary and tell me what you end up with.

    Normally a turntable is not height adjustable but it might be possible (I'll check).


    Ben

    EDIT: OK I can make one height adjustable but it messes up the dighole. HOWEVER!!! this would already be below ground and should not have any visible parts other then the controlling red arrrows so I might not need a dig hole. I would texture the parts with glass which would be hard to see under water but not too hard (you might need to delete one now and then, lol).
    Last edited by bendorsey; July 9th, 2012 at 04:22 PM.
    Trestle Man

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •