Older PC - What version of Trainz to but?

tebee

hi folks

I used to have Trainz UTC many years ago but dropped out partly due to family illness and partly because I found content creation so frustrating. I'm a railway modeler and I make a lot of models by kit bashing - taking a model of one thing and making it into something else - the fact that you couldn't do that in Trainz but had to make everything from scratch is probably the main thing to put me off.

But , 8 years down the line , my own illness has meant I've had to stop work and I find myself with excess time but not a lot of money. I've been spending some of this time developing a range of 3-d model trains which I'm hoping to bring to market next year as real models produced by 3-d printing.

Well it occurred to me that I could use the same models as a basis for content in Trainz and maybe do some of the things I was planning all those years ago, but was frustrated by lack of suitable content.

So I need to get myself a newer version of Trainz, but my pc's are older models and I've not got funds to upgrade at the moment.

So what version of Trainz would work well on them ? The laptop is a Pentium mobile 1.6 Mhz with 1 GB ram and my main machine is a P4 3 mhz with 2 GB ram , both running XP sp3 . I notice this is below the spec for Trainz 2010, so would 2009 or 2006 be better? What would I lose by going for an older version?

Are any of these versions capable of running or importing my old UTC content? Had a few routes I'd spent a lot of time on .

Tom

Welcome to the forums.
Sorry to hear of your illness...I've had some experience with such things. I used to run 2006 adequately on a system like your desktop. I would avoid 2009 as it's become somewhat of an orphan stepchild.

hi folks