.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 23

Thread: Signals always red before points in 2009

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    10
     

    Default Signals always red before points in 2009

    After having installed TS 2009 Beta and Final 4 times and having imported my content previously, I'm always having the same problem in Quick Drive/Driver Mode. When I set an AI train to run between any two or more trackmarks on my custom-made map, the signal immediately before a set of points will always show a red aspect despite the path being clear. This happens everytime an AI train encounters a set of points and whilst the train occasionally clears the signal it will always be red beforehand.

    On my TRS2004 and 2006 installation this problem does not exist. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Many Thanks

    Steve

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, NSW, Cowra
    Posts
    4,477
    Blog Entries
    4
     

    Default

    Which signals are you using = some older scripted signals may not work in 2009

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    10
     

    Default

    Many Thanks for your reply. Generally most signals are normal 4 aspect automatic British Signals. the problem seems to be everywhere, regardless of the types of signals I use. I dont understand why this happens as it works fine in my copy of 2006 which i still have installed. Since I've paid 2009 I would rather use it, aswell as it being better graphically and less resource intensive.

    Has anybody else had this problem?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, NSW, Cowra
    Posts
    4,477
    Blog Entries
    4
     

    Default

    So your saying you are using 2006 signals in 2009 wonder if that is a problem - I do know that if you you use the Australian 2006 sigies in 2009 its a bit of a problem

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    5,494
     

    Default

    Hi Steve --

    I encountered exactly the same issue when I imported a TRS2004 route into TC3.

    See my post #10 in this thread:

    http://forums.auran.com/trainz/showthread.php?t=30791

    I suspect that TRS2009 might also use the same signaling scripts as TC3.

    See if my solution works for you.

    Phil

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    10
     

    Default

    Once again I'd like to thank those who have replied. After having followed your suggestions, I have tried completely replacing the track, signals and points with the same and other types and even new built stretches still have the same problem. The signals work correctly until they reach a set of points. Even if the path is clear with no trains in the vicinity, the last signal before the points always displays a red aspect. Also the signals approaching the points all display the correct aspect. (ie. green on a long stretch and then double yellow, yellow and finally red.) when the train has to wait approx 30 secs to 2 mins before it clears, even if the points are set correctly.

    I'm really baffed ladies and gents. I've started this map in 2004 and have used it in 2006 without a problem. I was thinking that there may be a problem with the scripting (even thought I have typed anything in TRS myself). Or possible they're may be a setting or something I can use to resolve this?

    Steve

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, TN, Memphis
    Posts
    1,693
     

    Default

    I have not found any signals that show a green when the points are set correctly. If someone has signals that do I would like to try them and see if it makes a difference when running the routes.

    Thanks

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    5,494
     

    Default

    Steve --

    Are you using any Track Direction Markers (the yellow cones thingies that stop AI trainz going where they shouldn't)?

    From my post above this was the cause of my problem.

    Phil

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Portland, Maine
    Posts
    523
     

    Exclamation Seems to be AI problem

    This seems to be be a problem with AI, I suspect. I have this same problem
    on different routes with different signals. All red, no change when points are re-lined for proper movement.
    Maybe SP1 will address this...

    Let's have this dispatcher view on a 2nd monitor.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, Queensland, Brisbane
    Posts
    377
     

    Default

    Signalling has changed between TRS06 and TS2009. It now knows a lot more about real signal behaviour.

    A couple of examples:

    Signals on plain line (with no junctions after them) are normally run as automatic signals in real life, and a signal placed in this way will become an automatic signal in TS2009. This means it does not require an approaching train to make it clear.

    Signals with junctions after them are controlled signals in real life - they need a train to approach, with a route set through the signal, in order to clear. Signals placed this way in TS2009 also need an approaching train in order to clear. (Oh, and use locomotives to test this with - if you can't drive it about, why should the signalling set routes for it?).
    The important thing here is that regardless of which way the points are set, if there is no train, the signal will not clear.

    Both of these are intentional changes.

    However, when a train approaches a junction, if the points are set correctly for a route to another signal, there is no blockage on the line (e.g. another train, then the signal should clear. It should do this early enough that the approaching train does not have to slow down significantly.*

    If you have a route where a train can approach a signal, with the points set appropriately for the route ahead, and the signal does not clear, then I'd love to see it. Either post a diagram of the junction that fails, and I'll build a copy of it here, or package up the map so I can download it and see the problem.



    * (Note: the TC3 semaphores have some real world behaviour where clearing is delayed until the train has nearly stopped when working within station limits. I don't believe any of these semaphores are included in TS9, so it's unlikely you are using these signals - and if you were, you'd probably have said so...)

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, CALIFORNIA, LOS ANGELES
    Posts
    3,995
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bloodnok View Post
    Signalling has changed between TRS06 and TS2009. It now knows a lot more about real signal behaviour.......
    * (Note: the TC3 semaphores have some real world behaviour where clearing is delayed until the train has nearly stopped when working within station limits. I don't believe any of these semaphores are included in TS9, so it's unlikely you are using these signals - and if you were, you'd probably have said so...)
    How do you define "station limits"? This "real world behaviour" seems to happen anywhere on my route (TC3) , and I really don't like it, as express trains have to slow down to get through signals. I hope it will be changed for TS2009.
    Another annoying behaviour is when a signal clears to let a train through, but closes too soon, and then the driver is accused of a SPAD. Will this be adressed as well?
    Thanks,
    Mick Berg.
    Last edited by Mick_Berg; December 11th, 2008 at 12:31 AM.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    10
     

    Default

    Once again I'd like to thank those who have posted for their input.

    To Bloodnok, I'd just like to advise you that I am having the same problem as Mick_Berg and I have made a short video of the problem that is occurring.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L0aOGlubDk0

    As can be seen in the video, the train in queston is supposed to be an express train and should normally be doing approx 130 mph thru this section. This is only one example of the numerous times that this problem occurs to this train.

    Once again, I have tried to replace all the signals with different types, some of the same type, and have even replaced the remaining infrastructure and yet I have the same problem. Directional Trackmarkers are correctly placed too.

    Thanks

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, CALIFORNIA, LOS ANGELES
    Posts
    3,995
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by neodoughnut View Post
    Once again I'd like to thank those who have posted for their input.

    To Bloodnok, I'd just like to advise you that I am having the same problem as Mick_Berg and I have made a short video of the problem that is occurring.
    I think I have fixed the problem by using distant signals (my layout uses semaphore signals.) Have you tried that, or the equivalent in colour light signals??
    Mick Berg.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    662
     

    Default

    Hi guys

    I'm having the same problem but without AI drivers. The signals used are perfect in terms of the game and real life signalling principals. I'll follow this thread closely.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Canada, Ontario, Oakville
    Posts
    1,956
     

    Default

    I don't know whether this relevant to the discussion because I tend to live in DCC mode happily driving around in TC3 however, I get slowed down by "delaying" signals when well away from a station. This is acceptable though because it appears to be triggered by having a number of signals very close together. i.e. If I had a pre-set green at the first signal, I would not have the necessary distance to come to a stop at the next stop signal. It makes sense to me!

    Regards. Colin.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •