.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 35

Thread: October Win10 1809 Update live.

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Crewe, Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    14,663
     

    Default October Win10 1809 Update live.

    For anyone interested the October Win 10 feature update is now available.
    Malc


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    24,923
     

    Default

    I saw that, thank you.

    I'm running the Insider Build and have found there are some nice changes in there like the clipboard sharing and notepad updates like being able to zoom in and retain the formatting and the dark theme for File Explorer and other windows dialog boxes.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    T:ANE Build: 94829
    TRS2019: 98592

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    24,923
     

    Default

    Here's the list of changes found in this build:

    https://www.windowscentral.com/windo...2018-changelog

    Some are nice haves and others are meh...
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    T:ANE Build: 94829
    TRS2019: 98592

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom, Cheshire,
    Posts
    983
     

    Default

    My older PC..(Win 10 Pro, i3 + 750Gti ) took 2 hours and 20 minutes from start of download to login after restart last night!

    I now need to check all of my settings to see what MS has reset to their preferences and not mine.

    I probably won't use 90% of the bloatware they've updated either.

    So.. be prepared for a huge install folks.
    Graham,

    A member of TCWW

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Newcastle NSW Australia
    Posts
    6,010
     

    Default

    And probably another activation of my 3DS Max license...
    T:ANE SP3 build 94829 and TRS2019 build 100240
    Win 10, i7 5820K, 3.3 GHz, 32GB ram, GTX 980Ti, 2x512GB SSD

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Crewe, Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    14,663
     

    Default

    Need to re-install Nvidia Drivers, the Upgrade is not installing them properly, OpenCL is missing.
    Malc


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    937
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by clam1952 View Post
    Need to re-install Nvidia Drivers, the Upgrade is not installing them properly, OpenCL is missing.
    There is a new driver for the upgraded Windows 10: 416.16 WHQL

    Regards
    Swordfish

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Crewe, Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    14,663
     

    Default

    Yes, found that early this morning so now using that.
    Malc


  9. #9

    Default

    Well... after reading this, i'm scared of updating anything => https://www.pcgamer.com/the-windows-...to-complaints/
    CPU: Intel I7 6700K
    Kingston ValueRAM 16GB Ram@2133MHz
    Gigabyte GeForce 1060 6GB OC
    Win10 64-bit Home and T:ANE SP3 Build 94808

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    24,923
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ajrf View Post
    Well... after reading this, i'm scared of updating anything => https://www.pcgamer.com/the-windows-...to-complaints/
    As always backup your critical data prior to any operating system update and ensure all your drivers and antivirus signatures are current prior to upgrading.

    I was not affected by this bug now or during the preview builds. The CPU usage issue was a reported bug during the preview and apparently it didn't get fixed. I believe it's fixed i 180928-1410, which came out just after the 1809 update.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    T:ANE Build: 94829
    TRS2019: 98592

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    8
     

    Default

    Hearing that issue, I'm afraid to even update myself since I have no idea how to backup my Trainz stuff since I don't have a USB or anything like that.

  12. #12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ryanthebrony1361 View Post
    Hearing that issue, I'm afraid to even update myself since I have no idea how to backup my Trainz stuff since I don't have a USB or anything like that.
    You can always buy an external HDD of the same space of your computer and copy all the stuff there... although depending of the size, it will take a long time.
    CPU: Intel I7 6700K
    Kingston ValueRAM 16GB Ram@2133MHz
    Gigabyte GeForce 1060 6GB OC
    Win10 64-bit Home and T:ANE SP3 Build 94808

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Crewe, Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    14,663
     

    Default

    MS are saying do not update if you have already downloaded the Install media, bit late as I've done 3 PC's using the MCT to create the ISO, however they all installed OK with no problems other than re-installing Graphics drivers and adjusting a few new settings.
    Pretty sure the problems are with the Windows update install method. Probably looking at next week before the mess is sorted out.
    Please everyone backup your operating system and data before allowing any upgrade.
    Malc


  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Crewe, Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    14,663
     

    Default

    Deleting files in at least one case was not paying attention when using the MCT and missing ticking "keep my data" another was the user had moved his User folder elsewhere and the update had as you would expect with what is effectively a reinstall, set things back to default, the same one persons report is being spammed all over the internet on the tabloid sites, not to mention the Internet echos where people have to repeat problems others have even though it never happened to them or they haven't upgraded even, making it probably seem a bigger problem than it actually is, bit like happens on here ;o)

    If you want to find out the real problems and there are a few check out Ten Forums, often there's a simple solution though.

    The Task Manager CPU usage will be fixed in the Cumulative update due on Tuesday for non Insiders, Insiders already have it, I've taken my Insider PC off Insider for the moment so can't check.

    Edit: Now looks like 1809 has been pulled as the download page has reverted to 1803 nothing official from Microshaft yet......
    Last edited by clam1952; October 5th, 2018 at 08:03 PM.
    Malc


  15. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    8
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by clam1952 View Post

    Edit: Now looks like 1809 has been pulled as the download page has reverted to 1803 nothing official from Microshaft yet......
    So that means we won't be updating to 1809 automatically just yet?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •