.
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Installing an SSD -- Moving T:ANE content?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Lost
    Posts
    1,676
    Blog Entries
    4
     

    Default Installing an SSD -- Moving T:ANE content?

    So I finally took the plunge and bought an SSD -- a 275 GB Crucial MX300 -- and I will be installing it in my PC shortly, alongside my current 1TB hard disk drive. I know I will need to reinstall Windows 10 on the new drive, as well as whatever programs I decided to install on it. I plan on putting T:ANE and its content on the SSD. I know I will need to reinstall T:ANE, but what's the best method of moving my content over? I'd rather not have TANE on the SSD if it's still trying to load content from the HDD.

    Also, is there any program that can copy the OS, drivers, and select programs to the SSD, or would I be starting from scratch?

    Thanks
    Matt
    Intel Core i7-7700K 4.20 GHz
    PNY GTX 1070 8GB Overclocked GPU
    16 GB DDR4 RAM
    275 GB SSD + 1 TB HDD + 500 GB HDD

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    25,181
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by epa View Post
    So I finally took the plunge and bought an SSD -- a 275 GB Crucial MX300 -- and I will be installing it in my PC shortly, alongside my current 1TB hard disk drive. I know I will need to reinstall Windows 10 on the new drive, as well as whatever programs I decided to install on it. I plan on putting T:ANE and its content on the SSD. I know I will need to reinstall T:ANE, but what's the best method of moving my content over? I'd rather not have TANE on the SSD if it's still trying to load content from the HDD.

    Also, is there any program that can copy the OS, drivers, and select programs to the SSD, or would I be starting from scratch?

    Thanks
    Matt
    You can clone/copy your existing hard disk on to a new drive using such tools as Minitools Partition Manager.

    http://www.minitool.com/

    This will save you from having to reinstall your OS.

    With T:ANE you can move the program to another drive, but you'll have to resetup things like shortcuts and stuff. With your data, you'll have to setup the install path to your new location. All of this is quite simple and easy to do. It's not a no-brainer, meaning you have to think about what you're doing but it's not difficult.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    T:ANE Build: 94829
    TRS2019: 98592

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Lost
    Posts
    1,676
    Blog Entries
    4
     

    Default

    I've heard the migration only works if you have sufficient space on the new drive, and no picking and choosing what gets copied. In this case, my existing HDD is 1TB (with about 600 GB used), whereas the new SSD is 275GB (kind of a strange number for computer stuff). I wouldn't be able to do that without deleting a substantial amount of stuff. It would be nice if I could just copy the OS by itself.
    Matt
    Intel Core i7-7700K 4.20 GHz
    PNY GTX 1070 8GB Overclocked GPU
    16 GB DDR4 RAM
    275 GB SSD + 1 TB HDD + 500 GB HDD

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Arkansas, Jonesboro
    Posts
    6,968
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JCitron View Post
    You can clone/copy your existing hard disk on to a new drive using such tools as Minitools Partition Manager.

    http://www.minitool.com/

    This will save you from having to reinstall your OS.
    That's what I did. Had no problems. After you clone to your new hard drive you may need to replace your desktop shortcuts or they might continue to be pointing to your old hard drive.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    25,181
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by epa View Post
    I've heard the migration only works if you have sufficient space on the new drive, and no picking and choosing what gets copied. In this case, my existing HDD is 1TB (with about 600 GB used), whereas the new SSD is 275GB (kind of a strange number for computer stuff). I wouldn't be able to do that without deleting a substantial amount of stuff. It would be nice if I could just copy the OS by itself.
    Matt
    Before you do anything, I highly recommend getting a backup drive too like one of those Desktop jobs from Seagate. They're inexpensive and come with gobs of Terabytes of space.

    Don't bother to use their backup program and instead make a folder called Backups!!!, or something like that so you know not to delete it. I did that with a folder called DO NOT DELETE!!! and in there I have stuff like my downloads I want to keep, backed up documents, and other data. The folder is obvious so I don't do the inevitable stupid mouse click that's associated with a brain fart!

    Anyway. Copy the stuff off like pictures, downloads, documents, music, etc. I'll bet this is where most of your drive space is anyway. T:ANE too is probably a big hunk of this data. Remember to grab that App Data/local/N3V Games folder too as that's your data.

    Once that's done, and you have ensured your data you want to keep, including your Trainz stuff, delete the data. Gulp! Yup get rid of it since you have the backup. If you're not sure measure twice, or three times then make the cut.

    Once you've done that, you'll find that you'll have plenty of room to fit the OS plus programs on to the SSD. My current 240GB, I know what you mean about drive size, has 72GB free.

    It sounds a lot worse than it really is, but this is the only way around it unless you want to do a fresh install on the SSD of your OS plus other programs. That is unless of course there are other computer icky issues you need to clean up with a fresh install. A fresh Windows 10 install is pretty easy to do unlike the other OSs we've used, but all in all I can't reiterate enough how important it is to have a backup of everything before you start. As that will ensure you've got yourself covered. If I lived closer I'd visit and gladly help out.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    T:ANE Build: 94829
    TRS2019: 98592

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Lost
    Posts
    1,676
    Blog Entries
    4
     

    Default

    At the moment, I'm running the SSD alongside the old HDD. I'm redownloading T:ANE as I type and I will copy my userdata folders over as soon as that's finished. I plan on making this a late night, copying stuff over. I don't have too much to backup, Trainz content, pictures, videos, docs... Everything else can be easily replaced, and likely put back on the old mechanical drive, but I have a couple 500 GB external drives if necessary.

    Matt
    Intel Core i7-7700K 4.20 GHz
    PNY GTX 1070 8GB Overclocked GPU
    16 GB DDR4 RAM
    275 GB SSD + 1 TB HDD + 500 GB HDD

  7. #7

    Default

    I just had reinstalled my machines. I have yet to install T:ANE and Trainz 10 again (waiting for my internal DVD/Blue Ray drive to arrive first!) but i can say that that the SSD really kicked up performence with Windows 10. So far, it's ran quite fast, compared to windows 7, which is on the 128GB HDD.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Colorado, Colorado Springs
    Posts
    445
     

    Default

    Don't know the names offhand, but there are programs you can buy that allow you to choose which items to move to your SSD along with the OS.
    I7-8700K
    1070Ti
    PCIe SSD operation (program and build)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    25,181
     

    Default

    The SSD package may even come with a utility disc which is bootable so it can do the copying block by block.

    If you need a third-party program, check out Mini-Tool at https://www.minitool.com/

    It's really easy to use and is very useful for disk management.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    T:ANE Build: 94829
    TRS2019: 98592

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Lost
    Posts
    1,676
    Blog Entries
    4
     

    Default

    This thread suddenly took off again...
    I've been sitting pretty with my SSD for two years now, and everything's going great with both T:ANE and TRS19. For what it's worth, I had no issues at all migrating my content.
    But now I'm looking at a larger M.2 SSD to replace the 2.5"...

    Matt
    Intel Core i7-7700K 4.20 GHz
    PNY GTX 1070 8GB Overclocked GPU
    16 GB DDR4 RAM
    275 GB SSD + 1 TB HDD + 500 GB HDD

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    1
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by epa View Post
    So I finally took the plunge and bought an SSD -- a 275 GB Crucial MX300 -- and I will be installing it in my PC shortly, alongside my current 1TB hard disk drive. I know I will need to reinstall Windows 10 on the new drive, as well as whatever programs I decided to install on it. I plan on putting T:ANE and its content on the SSD. I know I will need to reinstall T:ANE, but what's the best method of moving my content over? I'd rather not have TANE on the SSD if it's still trying to load content from the HDD.

    Also, is there any program that can copy the OS, drivers, and select programs to the SSD, or would I be starting from scratch?

    Thanks
    Matt
    May be Bitwar Data Recovery can do that for you.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •