UTC vs. 2006

rroby

May seem like a newbie question, but I am a newbie. What's the difference between UTC and 2006? Can you use content created for UTC in 2006?

Well I can answer your 2nd question.

Can you use content created for UTC in 2006?

Yes you can use items from previous versions of Trainz in TRS2006.

HTH

Dave

The sequence of Trainz products so far is:
  • Trainz (>SP1>SP2>SP3)
  • UTC (Ultimate Trainz Collection)
  • TRS2004 (>SP1>SP2>SP3>SP4)
  • TRS2006 (>SP1)
  • TRS2007 (=TRS2006+SP1; in France only)
  • Trainz Driver Edition (cut-down demo version of TRS2006)
  • Trainz Routes (data file add-ons for TRS2006, no program)
  • Trainz Classics (not yet released, details very vague as yet)
John

Except for those older ones on DLS in EXE format instead of CDP. Those bug me.:mad:

they do work in 2006 also, you just have to take note of where they are installing to. generally they will either install to your trainz/world/custom directory or to C:/world/custom (it'll make the folders) then in 2006 you have to go to where ever they are located and install them as content (not cdp).

as for differences in teh two programs. 2006 in many ways is (i think) far supperior to UTC. The magor changes in 2006 form UTC are:
  • Interactive industries
  • Interactive Stations
  • iChat/iPortals
  • Content Manager Plus (the Idea is good atleast, some have had trouble with it)
  • free-roaming camera in driver moad
  • the ability to place trains/consists on the track while in surveyor mode.
peter

The sequence of Trainz products so far is:
  • Trainz (>SP1>SP2>SP3)
  • UTC (Ultimate Trainz Collection)
  • TRS2004 (>SP1>SP2>SP3>SP4)
  • TRS2006 (>SP1)
  • TRS2007 (=TRS2006+SP1; in France only)
  • Trainz Driver Edition (cut-down demo version of TRS2006)
  • Trainz Routes (data file add-ons for TRS2006, no program)
  • Trainz Classics (not yet released, details very vague as yet)
John