Railway Modeller (UK) Digital Subscription

Vern

Trainz Maverick
Just wondered if anyone has used this service to successfully abstract track plans for use in Basemapz etc. Thinking of giving it a go as a 3 month sub is only £8.80 which gives access to the entire back collection. That otherwise would barely pay for two second hand copies, if you can even find them. Wife is also starting to moan about the number of magazines in the bottom of the wardrobe.

However if you can’t copy and save the plans, for purely personal use, then there wouldn’t be much point.

rmweb.co.uk have some interesting model railway plans. Middleton for laptops uses some ideas from the forum.

Cheerio John

I have a digital subscription to Railway Modeller and there's no problems at all with being able to save drawings and plans from the back catalogue collection. Compared with having piles of magazines all over the house and trying to track down old second hand back copies on ebay and elsewhere having a digital subscription was the best thing I ever did.

Great, thanks for that. I presume if you only require the three months, you just need to be aware and cancel your subscription with Exact Edition before the next payment is due.

It's actually probably easier abstracting the plans from the digital copy. For example, Camden and Kilsby caught my eye in this months RM but the plan crosses the centrefold between pages so not going to be easy to scan on a flatbed.

I have the Model Railroader back issues on DVD. I found that the in-house scanning method left a lot to be desired on any issue before the 1990s when they began to be marked up in pdf format to be sent to the printer. Any track plan that went across both pages had to be manipulated in Photoshop to get the two pieces to align correctly. Interestingly, they chose to prevent the end user from copying using CTRL - c but I used a screen capture program to grab them anyway.