What is the proper way to make a tutorial available?

ModelerMJ

RubyTMIX, Basemapz
Hi all,

I've been asked to create a tutorial and am looking for some pointers as to the proper way to get it to the interested parties here in the Trainz-forum world.

I write technical materials for a living, and would normally approach a task of this kind by developing the document in MS-Word and then making it available as a PDF. So my main question here is, once I have a PDF that I want to share, how do I go about doing so? Is there a way I can attach it to a post, or do I have to get it hosted somewhere and link to it?

I reailze this is probably a very noobish question, but I've only been here a few months and so will appreciate your patience as I try to learn the ropes.

Thanks in advance,
-Mike

If your tutorial is of significant interest to the general trainz community you should put it on to the TrainzDev_Wiki.

Otherwise you need someone to host the pdf so you can provide internet links to it.

Hi all,

I've been asked to create a tutorial and am looking for some pointers as to the proper way to get it to the interested parties here in the Trainz-forum world.

I write technical materials for a living, and would normally approach a task of this kind by developing the document in MS-Word and then making it available as a PDF. So my main question here is, once I have a PDF that I want to share, how do I go about doing so? Is there a way I can attach it to a post, or do I have to get it hosted somewhere and link to it?

I reailze this is probably a very noobish question, but I've only been here a few months and so will appreciate your patience as I try to learn the ropes.

Thanks in advance,
-Mike

I'd suggest using either the Trainz devwiki or the wikibook http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Trainz The problem with using .pdfs is keeping them up to date, finding them and also hosting them. At least put a reference to them in the two wikis.

Thanks John