Sharing My FYI To All TRS2012 Users

HillbillyHobo

I thought I would put a few simple FYIs that I know of on here for all the TRS2012 users, just in case some may not be aware of them.

I have realized from the forum that TRS2012 was not one of the best trainz out, and from what I hear it's almost impossible to bring an asset in from any trainz higher than 2012.

1. I noticed the sounds of the engines on TRS2012 did not really sound like a big engine rumbling. So I decided to give a shot at making an engine sound. I'm a professional sound, and lighting tech, so recording, and mixing is right up my alley. I took a real recording of a 16valve 710 engine idling, and had a bit of fun with it. I brought up the power, did some warping, compressed it, and EQ'd it, so it has a nice rumbling sound, instead of a tinty sound. I'm using it in my GP60s on my routes.

The name of the engine is - EMD 16-710G3A - it was made with the TRS2012 creator, using the 3.7 build, so it should work fine in 2012. I hear the engine sounds get better after 2012.

2. When I tried to create the asset for the DLS in the 2012 3.7 creator, it would create it at a 3.4 build, which is not acceptable for the DLS now. So here's what I had to do in case any of you are having the same trouble....

*Before getting started make sure you have a thumbnail to put in the folder you are going to be creating. The thumbnail needs to be 200 x 180 pixels (this can be done by resizing the photo in whatever photo software you use.)

a - Pull up the TRS2012 game, then hit the 'Content' button to bring up the 'Download Station'.
b - Click on the 'Today' tab so just a few assets show up.
b - In the upper left corner click 'File', the click on 'New Asset', and it should appear on the 'Today' tab, and the Content Creator should open.
c - Right click on one of the assets in the column on the creator, like for me it was 'engine sound'.