JET Engine and a good example of progress [pics]

nicky9499

SSoTW Bot
Hello guys,

I originally tried to post this to Suggestion Boxcar but after seeing alot of one-liner "suggestion" threads pop up I assumed mine was discarded from the approval box.

In light of the recent "should we update the JET engine" discussion which has appeared once more, I thought this was something relevant and we should think about it for a bit. I will state for the record that I'm not a programmer and these are just the views of your average Joe in the best interests of the Trainz hobby. Professionals or the more technically inclined are most welcome to offer your thoughts on the issue. Let us begin.

Once upon a time there was a bunch of truck simulator games. It was pretty crappy by today's standards. For the purpose of this discussion we will only focus on the graphical aspects. These games in question had rather primitive graphics; no dynamic lighting, no shadows, even its vehicle models used ground plane shadows. So, not very unlike Trainz at present. The company behind them is a bunch of Czech folks called SCS Software, a tiny company of only 20 developers. So, quite similar to our brew crew as well. What I'd like to bring to your attention is the work they've done in the past 1 year or so.

The below images are from a forum member complaining about the excessive use of recycling in the latest iteration (ETS2). But, from those same images we can also see massive graphical improvements, possible only by updating the game engine. Note that although the assets shown are essentially the same, it was an update to the game engine that truly brought out the realism.

644182d1366336104-spiele-screenshot-thread-bitte-keine-ot-diskussionen-cockpit-gts.jpg

644181d1366336104-spiele-screenshot-thread-bitte-keine-ot-diskussionen-cockpit-ets2.jpg

644184d1366336104-spiele-screenshot-thread-bitte-keine-ot-diskussionen-transinet-gts.jpg