A general observation about routes...

Hello all:
I have been using Trainz for over 10 years. Over that time I have downloaded many routes. I see all skill levels represented in the routes... from beginner to pro. I understand that some routes may be purpose built to look like tabletop model train "layouts". But for the larger, more prototypical routes, one thing I have noticed that has not improved over the years is track laying. I DL a beautiful route and the track looks like it is following property lines like roads do. Let me say that trains do not make 90 degree turns in a short radius, ( right or left ). If you build a route and run a consist, you should not see a "jerk" movement when the train enters a siding or makes a turn. It should be a smooth transition. If your trains look like a 1930's Lionel toy train turning curves, please stretch the curves out. You don't need 15 "pieces" of track to make a turn... Your routes will look much better.

Before I retired from the Illinois Central RR in 2003, I took a track laying course from one of the "oldtimers". I did not work in the track department, I took the course to better my track laying skills in Trainz. Prototypical railroads use something called a "cubic spiral" to transition from straight track to a curve. I won't try to explain that here... just Google it. Or look here: http://www.2dcurves.com/cubic/cubics.html

Thanks & happy trainzing :wave:

Tying to explain the cubic spiral to some people is useless. :hehe:

I do agree with what you say though, some route makers are not paying close attention to their track work.