Duel Monitors

Propeller

Will Trainz work with two monitors? For example, "in cab" view on the left monitor and "Map" view on the right monitor.

In a word "No", you can't split out the screens in the way you want. I would love to have something along those lines as well, and as dual monitor setups become more common maybe it will appear in a future version of Trainz ?

Trainz runs quite happily on a two monitor setup (well I hope so, I've been running it like that on and off for a few years :) ) but it will appear on the primary screen run windowed or otherwise.

There is a way to spread Trainz across 2 monitors for an ultra widescreen view, I have never tried this, but apparently what you end up with is a view of Trainz "as is" but just stretched.

Last edited:
Wide Screen

Another way to get "wide screen" is to hook your computer up to a large HDTV via HDMI. This is what I do and running Trainz routes is fantastic on these big screens.

As itareus says, you can stretch the screen across two monitors. This is done by running the program in a window but setting the resolution of the game to be that of the two monitors combined on the horizontal dimension. So for example if you have two 1980 x 1080 displays your Trainz video option would be 3960 x 1080 which will put the window across the two monitors.

What I don't like about this setup is the big black stripe down the middle caused by the monitor frames.

John

Hi guys, sorry for sticking my nose in. My monitor is fine, but I noticed when I was at the shop that 32" TVs are now much cheaper than my 24" monitor. Why wouldn't a guy go for a TV over a monitor? I saw a "good-name" 32" TV for $249 and next to it a 27" monitor for 3 times that amount.

Just curious, cheers.......Rick

...Why wouldn't a guy go for a TV over a monitor? I saw a "good-name" 32" TV for $249...