Hello

Gregory7a5

Hello all. I am new to Trainz and actually just finished installing it onto my computer about an hour ago and just registered it. After about a decade of MS Train Sim I decided to try something new. I did a lot of internet research and read reviews of the various train simulators available and finally after installing the iPad version decided to purchase the desktop version as well. Of course shipping from Australia to Florida takes a while but it is up and running. Looks pretty good. So, any tips, or suggestions for a "newbie?" I am curious about the muliplayer aspect. How has that been working out?

About me: Well, I live in Florida. I am an airline pilot based in Houston but have been "into" trains and planes since I could crawl. I fly mostly four-day trips and on my time off like to explore train yards, etc. At home when the weather prevents a good pool day I find myself tinkering with MSTS, now to begin with Trainz.

For MSTS I downloaded everything from trainsim.com but I see this website has the Download Station. I plan to check that out tomorrow. I am interested in US routes and consists, either freeware or payware. Any good suggestions for some BNSF or Amtrak and possibly California routes? The stock mojave route looks pretty good but wondering if anyone has created any other California routes?

Thanks for the info. I am looking forward to exploring Trainz in the upcoming days. I know forums can get rough but hope you'll bare with me if I ask "stupid" questions along the way.

Oh yeah, my screen name? When I bought this from the Auran site they created this for me, can't seem to change the screen name but only the password. Strange, eh?

Thanks,
G

Welcome to the forums Greg! Funny how you're interested in trains when you are a pilot, I wonder how many train engineers are running flight sims?