.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 37

Thread: Prowler901's D&RGW & TS12

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    USA, California
    Posts
    9

    Default Prowler901's D&RGW & TS12

    Hey guys,
    I was wondering if anyone has gotten Prowler901's content to work with TS12.
    I just downloaded it and none of the engines or rolling stock will work =(
    If anyone knows any special tricks to get the content to work that would be awesome!

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Riverbank, CA, USA
    Posts
    1,313
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    I've corresponded with a trainzer who is not big on the forums, but he has told me he has managed to make that content work. He never told me how he did it, and is kind of out of touch for a while so I can't tell you how he did it. So this is sort of a Rah!rah! don't give up on it. His screenies and videos looked good. It can be done and is worth the effort.

    Bernie

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    13,816

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wetdog707 View Post
    Hey guys,
    I was wondering if anyone has gotten Prowler901's content to work with TS12.
    I just downloaded it and none of the engines or rolling stock will work =(
    If anyone knows any special tricks to get the content to work that would be awesome!

    Thanks!
    Strewth its ages since I did these or most of them, If I remember correctly there is a missing black TGA file and texture.txt file in the invisible bogies, it uses a pm file for the invisible bogies, plus a few other config errors to sort out easy way is to run it through Pev's AssetX for the non texture errors.
    If I've remembered correctly the missing TGA needs creating an 8x8 black tga or any tga actually will do as it's not actually seen and a texture.txt file needs creating.

    There was also I think a texture.txt file in the tender that didn't have a TGA that had to be deleted, sorry can't be more exact as it was some time ago, I know most of the errors were the same so once one was sorted its easy to do the rest.

    if you post a couple of the errors, If someone else doesn't beat me to it which they probably will, should be able to work out from what I've got here what needs doing changing deleting or adding!
    Malc


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    USA, California
    Posts
    9

    Default

    I'll get to posting some of those errors asap!
    Thanks for the help!
    I'm still learning with the actual programming aspect of TS, I've messed around with some of it but I've still got a lot to learn.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    23,886

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by clam1952 View Post
    Strewth its ages since I did these or most of them, If I remember correctly there is a missing black TGA file and texture.txt file in the invisible bogies, it uses a pm file for the invisible bogies, plus a few other config errors to sort out easy way is to run it through Pev's AssetX for the non texture errors.
    If I've remembered correctly the missing TGA needs creating an 8x8 black tga or any tga actually will do as it's not actually seen and a texture.txt file needs creating.

    There was also I think a texture.txt file in the tender that didn't have a TGA that had to be deleted, sorry can't be more exact as it was some time ago, I know most of the errors were the same so once one was sorted its easy to do the rest.

    if you post a couple of the errors, If someone else doesn't beat me to it which they probably will, should be able to work out from what I've got here what needs doing changing deleting or adding!
    Malc,

    I got mine working ages ago too when I was using TRS2009. I remember finding another black.tga which I copied to the bogeys as required. The missing texture was something like water level or something like that. Like I said it's been a while too since I did that myself.

    John
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    TS12 Build: 61388
    T:ANE Build: 90955

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    USA, California
    Posts
    9

    Default

    So I've been messing around with one engine in the content manager and have made a bit of progress.
    Whether this is the right way to go about this or not I started by deleting all the errors with the engine and its internal parts, this made it so that it actually showed up in the surveyor as well as being able to run.
    But the issue now is that it's not smooth, it jerks around while it is running.
    These are the warnings with the engine itself:

    Warning: This asset uses an obsolete trainz-build number. Trainz-build numbers below 2.7 are no longer supported.
    Warning: Required tag 'color' was missing and has been set to default.
    Warning: Required container 'thumbnails' is missing.

    Unfortunately there are warnings with a lot of other internal parts as well
    Any guidance?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Australia, victoria, bayswater
    Posts
    136

    Default

    Greetings I've found that I'm having rouble with this content as wel I've been working on a list of all the errors and have been asking now for quiet some time and still no responses had been made

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, South Australia, adelaide
    Posts
    1,335

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wetdog707 View Post
    So I've been messing around with one engine in the content manager and have made a bit of progress.
    Whether this is the right way to go about this or not I started by deleting all the errors with the engine and its internal parts, this made it so that it actually showed up in the surveyor as well as being able to run.
    But the issue now is that it's not smooth, it jerks around while it is running.
    These are the warnings with the engine itself:

    Warning: This asset uses an obsolete trainz-build number. Trainz-build numbers below 2.7 are no longer supported.
    Warning: Required tag 'color' was missing and has been set to default.
    Warning: Required container 'thumbnails' is missing.

    Unfortunately there are warnings with a lot of other internal parts as well
    Any guidance?

    Hi Wetdog

    1st warning is simple open for edit in explore find and open the CONFIG.txt Find Trianz-Build and change it to 2.7

    2nd warning tag color I have found to be missing in the SMOKE, like so


    smoke0
    {
    attachment "a.stack0"
    mode "speed"
    color 10,10,10,10
    period 1
    rate 15
    velocity 2
    lifetime 3
    minsize 0.5
    maxsize 3
    }


    3rd warning is easy just add this to the bottom of the config under the last line,

    thumbnails
    {
    0
    {
    width 240
    height 180
    image "$screenshot$.jpg"
    }
    }

    BUT there must be a .JPG file named screenshot for the thumbnail to show in CM or in the trainz menu.


    Hope this helps.


    Poul

    PS i have all his engine working in TS12 but had to change the Engine Spec to something differnt to get the right speed and motion i wanted.
    Last edited by Electro; July 25th, 2012 at 06:19 AM. Reason: Adding text :)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    13,816

    Default

    This may help with the engine spec http://forums.auran.com/trainz/archi...p/t-58330.html Or just "borrow" an engine spec and sounds from a TC3 upwards loco.
    Malc


  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    USA, California
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Posted by Electro
    Hi Wetdog

    1st warning is simple open for edit in explore find and open the CONFIG.txt Find Trianz-Build and change it to 2.7

    2nd warning tag color I have found to be missing in the SMOKE, like so


    smoke0
    {
    attachment "a.stack0"
    mode "speed"
    color 10,10,10,10
    period 1
    rate 15
    velocity 2
    lifetime 3
    minsize 0.5
    maxsize 3
    }


    3rd warning is easy just add this to the bottom of the config under the last line,

    thumbnails
    {
    0
    {
    width 240
    height 180
    image "$screenshot$.jpg"
    }
    }

    BUT there must be a .JPG file named screenshot for the thumbnail to show in CM or in the trainz menu.


    Hope this helps.


    Poul

    PS i have all his engine working in TS12 but had to change the Engine Spec to something differnt to get the right speed and motion i wanted.
    Thanks a ton Poul! That worked out a few of the bugs, but one stayed along with a new error
    These are them:

    Warning: Required tag 'color' was missing and has been set to default.
    Error: Attachment point attachment (a.stack0) in 'smoke0' was not found.

    How do I fix (a.stack0)?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, South Australia, adelaide
    Posts
    1,335

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wetdog707 View Post
    Thanks a ton Poul! That worked out a few of the bugs, but one stayed along with a new error
    These are them:

    Warning: Required tag 'color' was missing and has been set to default.
    Error: Attachment point attachment (a.stack0) in 'smoke0' was not found.

    How do I fix (a.stack0)?

    I am in the middle of installling TS12 onto the Son's comp at the moment and then i will instal and fix the Original asset's,
    I will then let you know how i fixed that problem IF i have it, BUT just incase what is the KUID NO for that error please.



    Poul

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    USA, California
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Electro View Post
    I am in the middle of installling TS12 onto the Son's comp at the moment and then i will instal and fix the Original asset's,
    I will then let you know how i fixed that problem IF i have it, BUT just incase what is the KUID NO for that error please.



    Poul
    I think this is it, it's the only one I could find

    <kuid2:43955:4552:1>

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, South Australia, adelaide
    Posts
    1,335

    Default

    Hi Wetdog

    Sorry to say BUT after i installed Prowler's content NONE have given me that error,
    so i carnt help you out there BUT you can delete that TAG useing CMP or direct it to a.smoke0 and see what happen's.

    The only error i have gotten so far are

    Warning: This asset uses an obsolete trainz-build number. Trainz-build numbers below 2.7 are no longer supported.
    Error: The Tag 'maxspeedmph' is not permitted within a container of type 'smoke0'.
    Warning: Required tag 'color' was missing and has been set to default.
    Warning: Required tag 'color' was missing and has been set to default.
    Error: The Tag 'maxspeed' is not permitted within a container of type 'smoke5'.
    Error: The Tag 'maxspeed' is not permitted within a container of type 'smoke6'.
    Error: The Tag 'maxspeed' is not permitted within a container of type 'smoke7'.
    Warning: Required container 'thumbnails' is missing.


    Poul

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    USA, California
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Thanks for looking
    I didnt fix all the warnings but I got the k-27s running!
    Still working on the k-28s and k-36s, something about a waterglass error with the cabins =/
    Any ideas on how to fix?
    This is the error:

    Error: Texture 'waterglass.texture' is missing or could not be loaded for mesh 'hitbox.im'.

    It's the same for both types of engine

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, South Australia, adelaide
    Posts
    1,335

    Default

    hi wetdog

    RE : Error: Texture 'waterglass.texture' is missing or could not be loaded for mesh 'hitbox.im'.


    What i do is have a look at the window texture if it is see threw then i open the 'waterglass.texture.TXT file' and direct it to the window .tga.
    it is no way corect but it work's for me and still looks good.
    If not look at the TGA file's and find one that is a light color and direct the TXT file to that TGA.

    hope this help's


    Poul

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •