.
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: NG tracks inside standard and other guage tracks

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    South Africa, South Africa, Alberton Gauteng
    Posts
    1,860
     

    Default NG tracks inside standard and other guage tracks

    Hi guys.

    Has anyone tried to lay ng track on the inside of other gauge tracks on trainz. I see it can be done but I am not sure if it can be succesfully done on routes and how it will affect the running of trainz , like signals , running locos and rolling stock and all the other operating aspects. There were quite a few places in South Africa where this was done succesfully in reality. Not sue about other countries, have never gone into it or noticed it.

    Jan.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, Western Australia, Perth
    Posts
    476
     

    Default

    What you're referring to is known as 'dual-gauge' track. Here in Australia dual gauge track is a common means of overcoming the old differing gauges issue which plagued the railways of Australia for over a century - in fact, large stretches of dual-gauge lines are still in use.

    As for dual-gauge in Trainz, I know of at least two different standard/42' narrow gauge dual gauge track splines available on the DLS, but both are what is actually called 'gauntlet track', which has four rails, where as dual gauge normally has three rails - with the two gauges sharing a common rail.

    Your trick can actually work, however, because signals can only be used to control one track, you'll either need separate signals for both tracks, or simply use one as a 'dummy' track (Trainz doesn't differentiate between gauges - all trains run on the same common gauge despite how far apart the rails and wheels appear to be as far as the software is concerned). S301 made a separate dummy rail available on the DLS for use with his Victorian Railways broad gauge gauge track, to make it dual broad/standard gauge, which can be used for this very purpose to represent dual gauge track of smaller gauges as well.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    South Africa, South Africa, Alberton Gauteng
    Posts
    1,860
     

    Default

    That is very interesting and there are so many great and beautiful routes in all the versions of trainz where one could then fit in ng to compliment them or just to simply enjoy both of both worlds. Would there possibly be new CM or DL problems with the assets and dependencies at all do you think ?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Vientiane, Lao PDR
    Posts
    55
     

    Default

    Hi folks,

    As I was a "Model Railroader" decades ago, I was somehow inspired by John Allen's G&D Line. I used Shinohara code 100 track and partly Dual Gauge switches, Derail left or Derail right, some common rail right some left and at two places some DG double slips and all worked well so far. Locos were from NWSL bought by Pacific Fast Mail. The only problem was, 85 to 90 % of all the rolling stock available did not pass the Shinohara code 100 switches right, due to the reason, since their wheelflanges went to deep down. Result was, cars sprang out of the track. Today with Trainz, I try to do the same type of tracklaying. Mainly every route I build has one SG and one NG line, but to make it properly work with "Dual Gauge" is another story. But thanks to Enkidoh for Your tip concerning the "Gauntlet Track", I may have a look at this/these items.

  5. #5

    Default

    Trains always run along the centre line of the track so dual track could only have the narrow track in the centre so you have 4 rails showing. The only possible way to do it would be to place narrow track on top of standard track so it lines up with the outer/inner rail. Signals could be placed on the standard track and use invisible signals on the narrow track. You would then need to link the signals together so that if one is red then the other will also show red. This should allow both standard and narrow gauge to run on what would look like the same track.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, NSW, Sydney
    Posts
    5,537
    Blog Entries
    3
     

    Default

    Now, how about a triple gauge arrangement?



    From memory - rails 2 and 3 (counting from the left) are narrow gauge (3'6"), rails 2 and 4 are standard gauge (4'8.5") and rails 1 and 4 are broad gauge (5'3"). There were two locations in South Australia where all three gauges once met - Peterborough and Gladstone.
    A member of the "Party Machine". Now if only I could remember where they are holding the party!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Tennessee, Lewisburg
    Posts
    5,476
     

    Default

    MAN2 dual gauge track components by the late Elevenor work just fine in 2004 and 2006 . Possibly in 2009. Not sure about 2010 and up. You can make any configuration of dual gauge trackage using them including a swish (where the common rail changes sides).

    Ben
    Trestle Man

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    PA, USA
    Posts
    4,730
     

    Default



    Something like 6 gauges at EMD- you should see a switch!

    Any opinions in this post do not reflect those of Jointed Rail

  9. #9

    Default

    Something like 6 gauges at EMD- you should see a switch![/QUOTE]

    This one?

    Steam is King.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    PA, USA
    Posts
    4,730
     

    Default

    Yeah, that's the picture I was thinking of.

    Any opinions in this post do not reflect those of Jointed Rail

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Georgia, Rocky Face
    Posts
    4,125
    Blog Entries
    39
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bendorsey View Post
    MAN2 dual gauge track components by the late Elevenor work just fine in 2004 and 2006 . Possibly in 2009. Not sure about 2010 and up. You can make any configuration of dual gauge trackage using them including a swish (where the common rail changes sides).

    Ben
    I recommend Elvenor's 'MAN6 Four Rail Track'. The 'MAN6 Dual Gauge Track' is set up like a bridge track. Plus, if you use it as a curve, it'll look just plain weird. Also, the narrow gauge track is represented as an invisible track, which means that a narrow gauge train and standard gauge track can literally pass thru each other. This also means that each track needs its own signals, switches, etc. unlike the prototype. Because of all these problems, I go with Elvenor's 'MAN6 Four Rail Track', which represents 3-foot and standard gauge tracks, and you don't have the problems I listed above. It's not as common, but it's a lot easier.
    Trainz - Easy as Pi

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •