.
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Advice please

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Australia, South Australia, Barossa Valley
    Posts
    90
     

    Default Advice please

    I have TRS 9 (different user name) 10 and 12. Over the years I have obtained many assets (too many). As TRS12 is the better version(?) and there are plenty of good routes and assets available - I'm wondering - should I clean Trainz out and reinstall just TRS12 and TRS12 compatible assets to obtain a more efficient Trainz simulator.
    Thanks in advance
    Bob

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    "Chicago Area"
    Posts
    15,179
    Blog Entries
    18
     

    Default

    Personal choice. As you know they will exist quite happily together. Certainly if you choose to do so you should transfer beloved content over to 12, make your repairs, and save that content for re-use after the re-install.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    United States of America, NC, Goldsboro
    Posts
    1,077
     

    Default

    I have TS2010 and TS2012.

    I really don't use TS2010 at all now. My TS2012 is a clean install with only 3.5 or above content (route and session wise).

    That seems a good way to go.
    ASUS Strix Z270E i5-7600K (4.8 ghz), 16 GB DDR4, 4 GB Strix GTX 980



  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Australia, South Australia, Christie Downs
    Posts
    1,805
     

    Default

    Lately I have been loading some of my old favourite routes from 2004 & 2006.
    In most cases they loaded with little repairing.
    The result was worth while as the 2012 graphics made them so much better.
    I run a 36" HD TV as my monitor so the results are stunning.
    cheers,
    Mike

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    not your concern
    Posts
    895
    Blog Entries
    1
     

    Default

    I have to agree with my friend Mikeaust and a few others here. I have brought content from 2004 with little pain. Others just didn't want to play right. In the end yes it's worth it to bring assets forward.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Cyprus
    Posts
    774
     

    Default

    Being a UK Steam Freak, I couldn't live with just TS12. I have to include the S&C add-on at the very least but I've included TS10 for the additional routes. If content is made well in the first place it usually runs well in later versions (with the exceptions where N3V have changed the guidelines)
    Neil (Windows 10 Ultimate) T:ANE SP2 HF1 Build 90955

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Australia, South Australia, Barossa Valley
    Posts
    90
     

    Default Thanks

    Thanks everybody for your advice.
    I'm going to go for a clean install and drag in only the content I require.
    Thanks again.
    Bob

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •