HTML Assets for Triggers Tutorial

pware

Trainz Veteran
Disclaimer: I am not an expert on creating HTML assets for Trainz. This tutorial is intended to show how popup messages can be created by triggers. The triggers can be actual trigger objects placed on the track or they can be active industries reporting that their product or raw material levels have reached critical values. The two examples shown in this post are - a popup created by an industry based trigger, and a popup created by a train passing a track trigger.

The examples used in this tutorial will create the displayed messages in the form of web pages. In all cases the HTML (web page) message or messages will be part of a Trainz HTML-Asset which must be created first. You can use an existing HTML-Asset, such as the one created in the first tutorial and simply add the new pages and graphics (if any), or you can create a brand new HTML-Asset. A session can have several HTML-Assets as its dependencies.

This is the second tutorial I have posted on creating HTML assets. The first can be found at http://forums.auran.com/trainz/showthread.php?82205-HTML-asset-for-sessions-tutorial and I would recommend it as a pre-requisite to this tutorial.

TS12 SP1 HF4: Some changes have been made to the operation of these tools in the latest version of TS12. Most are only minor and a few, as yet unexplored, additional features have been added. Notes have been placed on the posts in this thread where such changes have been made to TS12 by N3V.

Peter Ware

Last edited:
Creating Industry Triggers

Probably the easiest of the various trigger methods in Trainz is a message produced by an industry when the quantity of its product (or raw material) reaches a critical level.

If you are going to create a new HTML-Asset for your popup messages, then follow the steps shown in this post from the first HTML Asset tutorial at http://forums.auran.com/trainz/showpost.php?p=901563&postcount=2