.
Page 1 of 12 12311 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 167

Thread: Baseboards

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    402
     

    Default Baseboards

    OK. So I am off to try and create a layout. I am new and while learning I wanted to be creating at the same time, (ie, All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy!)

    I have a couple questions about the Baseboard.

    Size is 720m x 720m in Real Scale. Thus, 1 baseboard is equal to 1.38km or .857 miles. This would rerquire 2.235 baseboards to make a mile.

    The layout I am looking at is the same one I had in mind when I started with Trainz 4 months ago. The D&RG routes. The Royal Gorge route from Cannon City to Salida alone is around 80 miles. This would require 188 baseboards.
    Does this sound right? And would Trainz be able to create a layout that large?

    I know these layouts require a large amount of time to create, but considering there are only a few stops between them locations, most of the layout would only consist of rock cliffs, trees and shrubs.

    The other route from Pueblo Colorado to Cannon City would be the one with all the residential and commercial buildings as well as the main train yards in Pueblo.

    Most cities on the Gorge route are no more than a couple of blocks long with less than 10 buildings in each. This would cut down on the build time, allowing no more than 1 day for each baseboard, (Excluding the boards that include the towns). Most of the route has only one mainline.

    Is this posible? If it is, I do understand that it would take over a year to do something like this. I just don't want to start something and after 3 or 4 months of work, find that there is a limit to the number of baseboards or such.

    Thanks,
    Merrill
    Last edited by Maddox61; November 9th, 2011 at 07:33 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    3,474
     

    Default

    Size is 720m x 720m in Real Scale. Thus, 1 baseboard is equal to 1.38km
    Your maths is way out, 1 baseboard is equal to 720m (or 0.62 miles) because you need 1000m to equal 1km.
    T:ane SP2 build 88364 + SnC & Duchess

  3. Default

    (ie, All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy!)
    Casting Crowns american dream right>?
    "I'm uneducated, my opinion means nothin!" - John Mellencamp "Crumblin Down"

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, VA, GROTTOES
    Posts
    1,360
     

    Default

    pending on your comp.,the better, the bigger the route.........theyre are a few out theyre with a couple thousand boards.......

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    United States of America, Fla., N. Ft. Myers
    Posts
    151
     

    Default

    Maddox61

    There is nothing in trainz that would stop you from building a layout of that size.

    How long it takes depends on how quickly you master surveyor espically the copy and paste function and just how detailed you want to make the layout and how accurately you want to make it compared to the real route.

    If you want to be extremelly accurate you may have to learn how to make a DEM of the actual route and it takes quite a while to learn how to do it.

    I don't want to discurage you because you can get a lot of fun and enjoyment out of making a route.

    Dave
    Formally IamKJVonly Since 10,26,2001
    (Rom 6:23 & 10:9)
    HP Laptop OMEN 17'' /win 10 Home/I-7/GTX 1050/build 105096

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, AZ, Tempe
    Posts
    4,731
     

    Default

    Maddox61: The first thing is to check you computer specs to see that drivers are up to date and how much Ram you have(Memory)..I think you will find that a baseboard and Half is approximately 1 mile..There are Guides on the DLS that can guide you through mile Lengths, curves etc..Go for it..
    Bob Cass December 15th, 1937 - February 23, 2015 Thank you for receiving him, Father.

  7. #7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BobCass View Post
    Maddox61: The first thing is to check you computer specs to see that drivers are up to date and how much Ram you have(Memory)..I think you will find that a baseboard and Half is approximately 1 mile..There are Guides on the DLS that can guide you through mile Lengths, curves etc..Go for it..
    Ok, here's a straight forward answer. Yes the route you are wanting is very much possible and do-able. The speed of the route depends on your computer. It takes two baseboards to make one mile. Yes one and half is more accurate,but you can't get half a board. The idea is take your time and have fun. If you have any questions please feel free to send me a pm, and I be more than happy to help you in any way I can.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Portland, Oregon USA
    Posts
    554
     

    Default Re number of baseboards

    There are users on this forum who have mentioned they have routes with 10,000 plus baseboards! I'm sure they have awesome PCs.

    I personally am working on a route that uses terrain-only maps by fishlipsatwork (Anchorage South and Anchorage North) combined and I'm sure there are 2,000 plus baseboards. Now most of these will remain wilderness and never developed except to be used as backgrounds for the main rail lines. I like terrain-only routes simply because until I get into TransDem, it's a good way to get realistic mountainous terrain.

    Suggestion: Look at all the built-in routes in your version of Trainz, and particularly the largest ones. This will give you an idea of how large routes run on your particular computer.

    In TS2010, I'm guessing ECML-King's Cross-York is the largest built-in route - anyone know how many baseboards? Many thousands for sure.
    Last edited by schweitzerdude; November 9th, 2011 at 10:38 PM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Antarctica, Vostok Base, South Pole, AQ
    Posts
    18,805
     

    Default

    Working with a DEM is really hard !

    Sure ... from looking from straight down you can get all the straights and curves correct ... but when you apply gradients, a 35 mile stretch can take days, and easily weeks to get all the gradients to be unlike a rollercoaster.

    When you have a -3.76% grade, and the next section is +2.78% ... it can get real madning !

    Most of my gradients are @ 0.40%, and at maximum 1.75%, the exception is the "Slide" witch is 2.37% and is used by downhill trains, as it is much too steep for a long train.

    I could have created a route from Camden NJ, to Conway yard in Pittsburgh, if I had done it on flat baseboards ... I'm guessing @ 500,000 of them !

    Condencing that same route, to display only the great railfanning sites, could be done on only several hundered flat baseboards though.
    Last edited by cascaderailroad; November 10th, 2011 at 12:17 AM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Upper Yarra Valley
    Posts
    6,746
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by schweitzerdude View Post
    There are users on this forum who have mentioned they have routes with 10,000 plus baseboards! I'm sure they have awesome PCs.
    Route size and computer 'awesomness' are utterly unrelated. You can run a 10,000 board route on any computer that is within spec. My original East Kentucky route was built on a machine below minimum spec for TRS04. What will grind a computer to a standstill is not the size of the route, but the content used on the route. When considering route performance the size of the route whether measured in miles, kilometers or baseboard count is irrelevant...

    Quote Originally Posted by cascaderailroad View Post
    Working with a DEM is really hard...
    I know you struggle with it Cascade, but imho there is no easier way to make a 'big' route than use a DEM, specially something like the route proposed in the OP. If imported from HOG The DEM will give you something approximating the landform as seen by the railroad engineers before construction commenced. Laying the track through a 'virgin' landscape is probably the part of routebuilding that I enjoy the most. If that ain't your thing then using TransDEM will give you a route with the track already laid and the trackbed formed...

    Andy
    checkrail.com...freeware routes for Trainz

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Antarctica, Vostok Base, South Pole, AQ
    Posts
    18,805
     

    Default

    You mean to tell me that TransDEM will lay track and exact gradients, automaticly ?

    Why are Scrachy, Others, and I, working adjusting gradients by hand ?

    Then man that created my DEM, did it using very exact satelite data, and TransDEM ... but the railbed gradients are off quite a bit, and railbed contours need cutting, so gradients are not hugely way off from the prototype. See: ---> http://forums.auran.com/trainz/showp...12&postcount=3

    If TransDEM makes a routes gradients and lays track precisely ... why are not all routes in the world made allready ?

    If it was so possible to precisely lay track automaticly ... a Horsehoe Curve route would have been made 6 years ago by someone who had payware TransDEM.

    And a TransDEM route creator that had this tallent, would have a corner on a huge market, being able to charge on a commision, the creation of custom built TransDEM routes for other people.
    Last edited by cascaderailroad; November 10th, 2011 at 04:42 AM.

  12. #12

    Default

    TransDEM is only the mediator.

    Basically there are two data sources for proper alignment, either an accurate DEM or accurate 3D track geometry in vector form. TransDEM can process both.

    The easiest way is the high-res DEM. In one of the later postings in the other thread you refer to I showed an 1/9 arc sec NED DEM where you can make out the right-of-way in all details, cuttings, high-fills, locations of bridges and overpasses, tunnel portals, etc.

    The alternative data source would be 3D track geometry. Admittedly, unless you have an excellent relationship with your favourite railroad company it will be difficult to acquire original data. Instead, it will be a DIY job in most cases, but it would be carried out with a dedicated CAD tool, not with Trainz Surveyor. TransDEM will take the completed 3D track geometry and adjust low-res DEM terrain accordingly (allow for occasional glitches). Challenge here is to find a suitable and affordable tool.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    402
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BLACKWATCH View Post
    Your maths is way out, 1 baseboard is equal to 720m (or 0.62 miles) because you need 1000m to equal 1km.

    I was half asleep.

    BobCass

    I checked on a number of different conversion calculators and I come up with,

    1 mile is equal to 1609.344m to be exact and if the tables are 720m then 720m/1609.344m would be 2.2352 boards.
    I double checked and 1 mile is 1.609km
    Unless I am calculating this wrong.

    Does Trainz recognize 1.5 boards as being 1 mile?

    If so, then Trainz has a real bad flaw in calculating distance.

    SOmeone is wrong. Maybe me, I don't know.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Crewe, Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    16,460
     

    Default

    Trainz does not interpret 1.5 boards as a mile, that was a rough guess OK for made up fictitious routes. For true representations each board is 720 x 720 metres, no more no less. Work in metres when constructing and there isn't a problem.
    The only restriction you have on number of boards is the capability of your PC. 80 miles may not seem like it but is small route compared to many routes and well within the capabilities of in spec PC's
    Malc


  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    "Chicago Area"
    Posts
    15,179
    Blog Entries
    18
     

    Default



    One blank baseboard, Imperial Measurements, Ruler Tool in feet, from one side to the other. About two and one quarter baseboards to make one mile, by my calculations.
    Last edited by Euphod; November 10th, 2011 at 07:25 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •