.
Page 11 of 16 FirstFirst ... 910111213 ... LastLast
Results 151 to 165 of 226

Thread: RubyTMIX: A TrainzXML Exporter for Google SketchUp

  1. #151
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    658

    Default

    My First Spline! Yey...
    This is impossible to do with current hardware. - People not running current hardware.

  2. #152

    Default

    Hello,

    I'm not a great designer, however I'm having my better results using Google Sketchup. I have been searching for some Google sketchup tutorials for dummies and luckily found some great educational Sketchup movies.

    The last couple of days I have been doing some tests.

    Here is one of my tests ( it's not finished yet and some changes need to be done ). I have been using the import utility with a picture ( use as image ).




    I have incorporated the Rubytmix plugin within Sketchup.

    But, starting the plugin and viewing the trainz mesh viewer I'm getting this result.





    Can someone explain, why this result occurs? What am I doing wrong?

    Best regards

    Kurt
    Last edited by belgian46; December 8th, 2013 at 08:56 AM.

  3. #153

    Default

    Hi Kurt,

    This may be due to the fact that SketchUp has front faces and back faces, and you have painted the materials on the back face without realizing it. You may have to reverse the faces where the images are, and re-paint them (and erase them from the original faces as well). Also, be sure you are importing your images as a texture and not just applying an image to a face; they are two very different things. Finally, be sure there are no groups in your model by using the 'explode' function; this will often correct odd geometric results.

    Hope this helps.

    Regards,
    -Mike

  4. #154

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ModelerMJ View Post
    Hi Kurt,

    This may be due to the fact that SketchUp has front faces and back faces, and you have painted the materials on the back face without realizing it. You may have to reverse the faces where the images are, and re-paint them (and erase them from the original faces as well). Also, be sure you are importing your images as a texture and not just applying an image to a face; they are two very different things. Finally, be sure there are no groups in your model by using the 'explode' function; this will often correct odd geometric results.

    Hope this helps.

    Regards,
    -Mike

    Hello Mike,

    Thank you for your reply.

    I rechecked my drawing and the picture was placed on the front face, however I didn't use the option " as a texture ".
    Now when I use " as texture I get the following result using the trainz mesh viewer



    Is there a solution for this situation?

    Best regards

    Kurt

  5. #155

    Default

    I think you need to use the 'position texture' function, which allows you to place only the portion of the texture you want on each face. Otherwise the texture is tiled, which is what it looks like is happening. Also I still see white faces, which are either untextured or reversed as I noted before.

    Hope this helps.

    Regards,
    -Mike

  6. #156
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Thailand, Kalasin
    Posts
    3,527
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Awel Kurt,

    zie dat je met het station Heist aan het violen bent?!!
    Mike is juist je moet texturen gebruiiken en kijk in de menu waar je de texture position en andere parameters kunt wijzigingen speeel ermee er zijn 4 knoppen die je klikt en heen en weer schiuift in funktie van wat die doen roate, scale, move etc speel er mee daar leer je het snelste van.
    Ik heb een hele zak vol met reskins en andere sketchups waar ik mee aan het experimenteren ben. Eens het werkt en het trainzer publiek het aanvaart zal ik de nightmode inbouwen. Resultaten zie je op mijn threads.

    Groetjes aan de zee als je daar woont.
    Woon je misschien in zicht aan zee waar Armand Pien het altijd over had : mooi weer in zicht. lol

    Roy

    no translation local flemisch talk nothing to worry about and nothing to learn from yet.
    The makers of the famous Canadian Rocky Mountains routes​(for TANE SP2 #88364,90945)
    Canadian Rocky Mnt CPR Mt Sub bundle XXL available now
    http://www.roystrainz.com/
    upcoming: Super Laggan Sub XXL : Field to Cochrane east of Calgary!! 4 TANE

  7. #157

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ModelerMJ View Post
    I think you need to use the 'position texture' function, which allows you to place only the portion of the texture you want on each face. Otherwise the texture is tiled, which is what it looks like is happening. Also I still see white faces, which are either untextured or reversed as I noted before.

    Hope this helps.

    Regards,
    -Mike
    Hello Mike,

    Thank you for the extra info.
    Yes, the texture is tiled - I will search for the position texture option. I have never seen such an option in the Google Sketchup tutorials for dummies instruction movies.
    I also need to do a retake of some pictures. Some pictures are not taken from the right angle.
    The white faces are correct, due to untextured ( not colored ).

    Best regards

    Kurt

  8. #158

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by joosten View Post
    Awel Kurt,

    zie dat je met het station Heist aan het violen bent?!!
    Mike is juist je moet texturen gebruiiken en kijk in de menu waar je de texture position en andere parameters kunt wijzigingen speeel ermee er zijn 4 knoppen die je klikt en heen en weer schiuift in funktie van wat die doen roate, scale, move etc speel er mee daar leer je het snelste van.
    Ik heb een hele zak vol met reskins en andere sketchups waar ik mee aan het experimenteren ben. Eens het werkt en het trainzer publiek het aanvaart zal ik de nightmode inbouwen. Resultaten zie je op mijn threads.

    Groetjes aan de zee als je daar woont.
    Woon je misschien in zicht aan zee waar Armand Pien het altijd over had : mooi weer in zicht. lol

    Roy

    no translation local flemisch talk nothing to worry about and nothing to learn from yet.
    Hallo Roy,

    Bedankt voor je antwoord. Tot nu toe kon ik enkel een simpel huisje bouwen. Nu een stapje verder - een treinstation. Het kostte me heel wat tijd om het dak op een deftige manier presenteerbaar te krijgen. Hopelijk lukt het om de foto's te integreren op de verschillende stationsgebouwen ( Knokke, Duinbergen, Heist, Zeebrugge, Brugge, Blankenberge ( het oude gebouw hebben ze een 10-tal dagen geleden afgebroken en binnenkort begint de nieuwbouw), Oostende, Koksijde en De Panne.
    Moet enkel ook nog oefenen met het nemen van de foto's, want sommige gebouwen staan soms een beetje schuin.
    Ik woon inderdaad aan zee, doch heb geen zicht op zee. Afstand van thuis tot strand = +/- 400m
    Armand Pien, dat is pas nostalgie.

    Mvg,

    Kurt

  9. #159
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Brazil, sao paulo, limeira
    Posts
    28

    Default

    I can use this in Trainz the new era ?
    JPBT

  10. #160
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Brazil, sao paulo, limeira
    Posts
    28

    Default

    please help me, I'm using rubytmix and when I click to import content in RubyTMIX_Output file, the following message appears: Warning: Unable to read config file for asset at 'C: \ Users \ Computer \ Desktop \ RubyTMIX_Output'
    Note: I used ts2012
    JPBT

  11. #161

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by joaopedrotrs View Post
    I can use this in Trainz the new era ?
    I have purchased T:ANE but have not installed it yet, so I do not know the import requirements. For the moment I cannot say that RubyTMIX will work with T:ANE. When I have time to experiment then I will have more information to offer. Right now I cannot say when that will be as I have many other commitments that are taking priority.

    Regards,
    -Mike

  12. #162

    Default

    Hi Mike, your wonderful plugin works in 2015 and the export to T:ANE work,too.

  13. #163
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    5
    Blog Entries
    8

    Default

    Can anybody tell me how do I get the plugin button to show up on google sketchup?

  14. #164

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kissfan2012 View Post
    Can anybody tell me how do I get the plugin button to show up on google sketchup?
    If the plugin is installed correctly, there will be a Plugins menu in SketchUp and you will find RubyTMIX on that menu. Please refer to the detailed User's Guide that is included in the RubyTMIX download.

    HTH
    -Mike

  15. #165
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, New York, Staten Island
    Posts
    1,222

    Default

    I have Sketchup Make 2015 and the Trainz XML exporter works but I can't get the PEV's Trainz Mesh Viewer to work from within Sketchup. I fixed the problem by telling Trainz Mesh Viewer to open *.IM files after clicking on them. I wish that I can add attachment points in SketchUp instead of in PEVSoft Attachment Maker.
    Last edited by jeffmorris; November 9th, 2015 at 07:12 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •