.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 30

Thread: Amtrak Trainz Group coaches

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    United States of America, Illinois
    Posts
    424
     

    Talking Amtrak Trainz Group coaches

    I know I have been asking for help on this in another thread of mine but I wanted one that is specifically for this problem. My problem is I am trying to install the coaches from the download section on the Amtrak trainz Group Website (http://s4.zetaboards.com/amtkz/index/). For the amfleet cars, they require Amtrak Pioneer III Truck,<kuid:160048:1064>. But this asset is faulty and gives me this error:
    Error: Binary conversion failed for texture resource 'nv_meta.texture.txt'.
    This makes the cars unusable. And then for the Diner and sleeper cars, they require <kuid:160048:1067> which I have been searching for and cannot find.
    So if anybody can help fix these major problems I would very much appreciate it.
    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    25,830
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Gameboy900 View Post
    I know I have been asking for help on this in another thread of mine but I wanted one that is specifically for this problem. My problem is I am trying to install the coaches from the download section on the Amtrak trainz Group Website (http://s4.zetaboards.com/amtkz/index/). For the amfleet cars, they require Amtrak Pioneer III Truck,<kuid:160048:1064>. But this asset is faulty and gives me this error:
    This makes the cars unusable. And then for the Diner and sleeper cars, they require <kuid:160048:1067> which I have been searching for and cannot find.
    So if anybody can help fix these major problems I would very much appreciate it.
    Thanks!
    Open up the faulty asset, the truck and see if the actual texture exists. If it doesn't try deleting the correspoding .texture.txt file and see if that fixes the error by checking the errors again.

    If it does not fix the problem and or the texture exists, undo the delete and run one of PEV's Tools that can fix the error.

    Once the problem is resolved, close explorer, commit the asset to save it to the database, and see if all the problems go away. This should fix your dependency.

    John
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    T:ANE Build: 94829
    TRS2019: 98592

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    United States of America, Illinois
    Posts
    424
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JCitron View Post
    Open up the faulty asset, the truck and see if the actual texture exists. If it doesn't try deleting the correspoding .texture.txt file and see if that fixes the error by checking the errors again.

    If it does not fix the problem and or the texture exists, undo the delete and run one of PEV's Tools that can fix the error.

    Once the problem is resolved, close explorer, commit the asset to save it to the database, and see if all the problems go away. This should fix your dependency.

    John
    Hi, The texture does exist and I am wondering where I can find one of PEV's tools and what to do with it.
    Thanks!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Washington, Tacoma
    Posts
    5,786
     

    Default

    PEV's tools are available at http://www.members.optusnet.com.au/~...mp/pevsoft.htm
    If you use his Mesh-Text-Viewer you can see what textures are actually used in the mesh and how they are used. If a texture is not use in the mesh then obviously it can be deleted. If it is used but in one of these names slots:
    TEX_AMBIENT
    TEX_SPECULAR
    TEX_SHINE
    TEX_SHINESTRENGTH
    TEX_SELFILLUM
    then use the PM2IM with strip textures option on.

    Bob Weber

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    United States of America, Illinois
    Posts
    424
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rweber95 View Post
    PEV's tools are available at http://www.members.optusnet.com.au/~villaump/pevsoft.htm
    If you use his Mesh-Text-Viewer you can see what textures are actually used in the mesh and how they are used. If a texture is not use in the mesh then obviously it can be deleted. If it is used but in one of these names slots:
    TEX_AMBIENT
    TEX_SPECULAR
    TEX_SHINE
    TEX_SHINESTRENGTH
    TEX_SELFILLUM
    then use the PM2IM with strip textures option on.

    Bob Weber
    Ok im confused. I downloaded the Mesh text viewer, I opened up the texture and now im stuck. and I cant edit anything in the viewer. And I when I commit I also get this error:
    Error: Unable to load source texture 'hash-6f\copytempsrcbo6v57s46\nv_meta.convert-tex' in subst 'local'
    Last edited by Gameboy900; July 24th, 2011 at 06:57 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    United States of America, Illinois
    Posts
    424
     

    Default

    So can anybody help me out? I'd love to use the great cars.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Washington, Tacoma
    Posts
    5,786
     

    Default

    It's called a Mesh-Text-Viewer. It's not an editor. The only way to change anything in a mesh file (.im or .pm) is with the PM2IM tool or with a hexeditor. The Mesh-Text-Viewer helps you determine is something is wrong in the mesh file so that you can use the appropriate tool to correct it.

    Bob Weber

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    United States of America, Illinois
    Posts
    424
     

    Smile

    Ok cool, but can you please explain to me step by step what i have to do? Thanks!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Washington, Tacoma
    Posts
    5,786
     

    Default

    I right click Amtrak Pioneer III Truck,<kuid:160048:1064> and select Edit - Edit in Explorer. I used Mesh-Text-Viewer to check what textures are used with truck.im. No nv_meta texture is used so I deleted nv_meta.texture.txt, saved and commit without error.

    Bob Weber

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    United States of America, IL, Just Noth of Chicago
    Posts
    37
     

    Thumbs up Help

    Can one of you put the fixed Viewliner on the DLS Because i am no good with tech stuff. Thanks in advance
    Amtrak Foamer

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    United States of America, Illinois
    Posts
    424
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by amtrakfoamer View Post
    Can one of you put the fixed Viewliner on the DLS Because i am no good with tech stuff. Thanks in advance
    Agreed.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Washington, Tacoma
    Posts
    5,786
     

    Default

    An existing kuid that is in the DLS can only be changed by the author or by Auran/N3V with their asset cleanup program. This correction to the Viewliner is very simple. Using the Content Manager, right click the kuid and select Edit - Edit in Explorer. Then delete the file nv_meta.texture.txt, save and commit. Nothing could be simpler.

    Bob Weber

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    United States of America, Illinois
    Posts
    424
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rweber95 View Post
    An existing kuid that is in the DLS can only be changed by the author or by Auran/N3V with their asset cleanup program. This correction to the Viewliner is very simple. Using the Content Manager, right click the kuid and select Edit - Edit in Explorer. Then delete the file nv_meta.texture.txt, save and commit. Nothing could be simpler.

    Bob Weber
    I got it! Thanks! But how do I fix the viewliners? They are missing <kuid:160048:1067>. Thanks!!

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    United States of America, IL, Just Noth of Chicago
    Posts
    37
     

    Unhappy

    Quote Originally Posted by Gameboy900 View Post
    I got it! Thanks! But how do I fix the viewliners? They are missing <kuid:160048:1067>. Thanks!!
    Quote Originally Posted by rweber95 View Post
    An existing kuid that is in the DLS can only be changed by the author or by Auran/N3V with their asset cleanup program. This correction to the Viewliner is very simple. Using the Content Manager, right click the kuid and select Edit - Edit in Explorer. Then delete the file nv_meta.texture.txt, save and commit.
    Bob Weber
    I cant find the file in expolrer i feel bad about this i cant get it no matter what
    Amtrak Foamer

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    United States of America, IL, Just Noth of Chicago
    Posts
    37
     

    Default

    Pioner can't be found on DLS Help please
    Amtrak Foamer

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •