Presenting Catalina Island

sstyrnol

Hello everyone!

Probably introductions are in order first: My name is Sebastian, I am from Germany and have been involved on and off with Trainz every now and then, even though I have been more involved in MSTS most of the time.

In here I want to share some pics from a route I am building for my own leisure. Wether or not I am going to upload it at one stage I do not know, since I am still learning the in's and out's of TS2010 route building and I am probably still quite bad when compared to some of the pros here.

The route I am building is absolutely and strictly fictional. The terrain is DEMed from the Californian Santa Catalina Island (even though I reduced the absolute height of the terrain somewhat to facility rail laying!). Apart from that, I am inspired by scenes from Australia, Costa Rica, some islands in Europe.

The fiction goes like this: Catalina Island is an island off the westcost of the USA. In the late 19th centure, a wealthy eastcoast industrialist discovered the abundance of high-quality timber and even some ore in the mountains on this island. What was more natural than to build a railroad on this island? With the industry, people came and soon the railroad also transported people and other goods. The temperate climate and mild seabreeze allowed also for rich opportunities for growing fruit and vegetables, the rich oceans employed many fishermen.

In the 1950s, the remaining natural forests on the island became protected and there was only limited managed forest industry left to sustain the railroad. The mines have run dry likewise. However, the island has since transformed into paradise for leisure boaters, tourists, hikers and sun-addicts alike and the island's growers are renowned for their produce, so the railway still thrives. For the benefit of tourists, it lovingly maintains their old rolling stock.

Enough talking, following are some first impressions:

101024catalinaisland001.jpg

Ferry landing!