.
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: FPS display?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Dugan's Liquors & Dynamite Works, Port Ogden
    Posts
    5,466
     

    Default FPS display?

    Is there some way to get TRS2004 or 2010 to display an FPS counter? Tried the standard SHIFT Z but it don't do anything.
    This can't be a dream - if it was a dream there would be rum.

  2. #2

    Default

    Not sure about 2004 but, in 2010...when running in driver or even in surveyor I supose:-press your windows key(or alt-tab if another prog open) to minimize trainz. Then look to the trainz tab in your Taskbar. You see those numbers...guess what ?

    Mart.

    PS...for the less computer experienced readers....clicking the Trainz tab in your Taskbar will return you to your game.
    Last edited by Mart1001; June 30th, 2010 at 08:53 PM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    85
     

    Default

    You could also get Fraps, which is a video game recording tool. There is a free demo version out there. Just do a Google search for it. It has an option to show FPS in game, plus you can take short in game videos.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Arkansas, Jonesboro
    Posts
    7,221
     

    Default

    ^ Yes, FRAPS is the only way to go to see your Frame Rates.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Washington, Tacoma
    Posts
    5,786
     

    Default

    FRAPS gives instaneous readings of FPS. If you run any session in Driver, then when you finish you can open the file ..\Auran\TS2009\jetlog.txt and scroll to the bottom you'll see the average FPS and total time you drove.

    Bob

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Australia, SA, Adelaide
    Posts
    1,054
     

    Default

    Running Trainz in Window mode shows FPS in top left corner. Does on my Trainz 2009, 2010 at least. Never really checked on older versions.

    Cheers

    Trent
    Too many idiots and so few bullets!!!!!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Dugan's Liquors & Dynamite Works, Port Ogden
    Posts
    5,466
     

    Default

    Thanks, guys, I already have FRAPS, but AFAIK just having FRAPS loaded slows down the framerates and gives a false reading, no? I'll use it if nothing else is available, when troubleshooting low framerates it's important to have some kind of benhhmark. I had already noted that running in a window produces FPS on the window itself, trouble is that don't help when you're trying to decide if you get better framerates in windowed or full screen mode. My specs;

    OS: Windows XP Media (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 2 (2600.xpsp_sp2_rtm.040803-2158)
    Model: Dell DXP051
    CPU: Intel(R) Pentium(R) D CPU 2.80GHz (2 CPUs)
    Memory: 2046MB RAM
    DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)

    Video: Radeon X550 256.0 MB
    ATI Driver Version: 6.14.0010.6925

    Sound: SigmaTel Audio
    sthda.sys Driver Version: 5.10.4823.0000 (English)


    Obviously I need a new video card, and a real soundcard instead of the onboard chip might help, don't have the buckazoids for either right now. Currently running fullscreen at 1024x768x32, native resolution of the monitor is 1280x1024x32, but I can't actually see any difference.
    This can't be a dream - if it was a dream there would be rum.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    1
     

    Default FPS readout

    Hi. I'm new to the Trainz forum, so please forgive any mistakes I may make.

    Through random messing about, I discovered that on the initial screen where you select display options, untick the full screen box. When you start the game, the fps is then always displayed in the upper left of the window. It worked for me, anyway (2010EE).

    I found that with all graphic options turned lowest, with my Radeon HD4550 I only got about 25 fps at most. Hopefully, when I swap it for a HD5770 things will improve.

    Hope this helps.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Canada, Ontario, Ottawa
    Posts
    13,639
     

    Default

    Running in windowed mode will lower your frames per second, using fraps will also lower them.

    The log file will give you an average figure but if you say no log you get better performance.

    Cheerio John

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Arizona, Yuma
    Posts
    1,739
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by johnwhelan View Post
    Running in windowed mode will lower your frames per second, using fraps will also lower them.

    The log file will give you an average figure but if you say no log you get better performance.

    Cheerio John
    John using earlier versions of Trainz I would agree (it was even in the manual that widowed reduced performance) but I can't see any real performance hit windowed or fullscreen with 2010, they are within 3% of each other and there are some routes where windowed outperforms fullscreen...

    Now I check the jetlog and use MSI's afterburner and it has a fraps like app that runs either overlayed or on my G-15 keyboard lcd. when I am running windowed in overlay mode there doesn't appear to be any overhead lag or running just to the lcd there is no improvement or loss with or without the app in memory.
    Last edited by mrscsi; April 2nd, 2011 at 09:22 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •