.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 39

Thread: Trainz Exporter for Blender 2.5

  1. #1

    Default Trainz Exporter for Blender 2.5

    Like Blender 2.5 also TrainzExporter for Blender 2.5 has reached alpha status. Don't expect too much, but it should just be possible to convert your Blender models into Trainz content. As every CC has it's own style of creating models I want to publish this first version to ensure that I don't mess up things someone rely on. So if you want you can download an actual Blender2.5 and the Trainz Exporter script and check if it works for your models. Please use only copies of your Blender files, as I can not guarantee that the script not mess up your creation and the new Blender version might leave the *.blend file unreadable for older Blender versions.

    Simply extract the development build of Blender, copy export_trainz.py and TrainzMeshImporter.exe into subfolder .blender\scripts\io. At least after a Blender restart you should find the script under File->Export->Trainz Mesh and Animation....

    There are two major changes in this version:

    a) Beside the file selection dialog you'll find an options panel which let you specify the script behaviour. To store your settings check "save current configuration" and continue exporting.



    b) It's now possible to use Armatures and it's Bones as exportable b.r.*-objects. Of course you can stay in using Lattices, but using Armatures/Bones gives you the possibility to influence single vertices by more than one Bone. This allows you to animate the shape of a mesh. You can take a look at my testobject to get an idea of a basic setup using Armatures. Don't judge to hard about it's appearance; I really build it only to check the script

    Comments and suggestions are welcome.

    Best regards,
    Torsten

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    United States of America, Floatin' Along the Delaware River
    Posts
    7,394
    Blog Entries
    3
     

    Default

    Just curious, and I apologize for my inexperience, but does this mean there presently is not any well-established, guaranteed-to-work way to make content in Blender for Trainz? I ask because I have been fiddling with Blender for a bit. I like it a lot, and I was under the impression that one could produce content for Trainz. I would much rather learn and develop for Blender rather than an out-of-support GMax. However, if Blender is not "ready for primetime" as a content-development tool for Trainz, then perhaps I'm better off putting on the brakes and learning GMax, maybe going back to Blender in the future.

    Alternatively, is there a way to create in Blender, export to GMax, which then can be exported to Trainz?

    But if you think your exporter will work and if it is going to be improved, I'm willing to stay with Blender. I just don't know what to do at this point.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,122
     

    Default

    RRSignal

    Blender 2.49b and Torsten's existing exporter provides a solid and proven way to get Blender models into Trainz, and there are some good tutorials on how to get it all working. However, Blender is always evolving and many scripts are version-specific, and not guaranteed to work in later versions. Blender 2.5 is a big upgrade(?) but it is in fairly early stages of development and I don't think it will bring many 'must-have' features as far as Trainz content creating is concerned. I would recommend sticking at it with 2.49b for now- you'll find it far more powerful than Gmax once you get the hang of it, and a lot easier to model quickly.

    Also many thanks to Torsten for the continuing development work here- it's great to know that this project is still moving forward. Blender is such a good creation tool and unlike some other sims we're really lucky to be able to use it so easily to get content into Trainz.

    Cheers

    R3

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Canada, Ontario, Ottawa
    Posts
    14,021
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RRSignal View Post
    Just curious, and I apologize for my inexperience, but does this mean there presently is not any well-established, guaranteed-to-work way to make content in Blender for Trainz? I ask because I have been fiddling with Blender for a bit. I like it a lot, and I was under the impression that one could produce content for Trainz. I would much rather learn and develop for Blender rather than an out-of-support GMax. However, if Blender is not "ready for primetime" as a content-development tool for Trainz, then perhaps I'm better off putting on the brakes and learning GMax, maybe going back to Blender in the future.

    Alternatively, is there a way to create in Blender, export to GMax, which then can be exported to Trainz?

    But if you think your exporter will work and if it is going to be improved, I'm willing to stay with Blender. I just don't know what to do at this point.
    The basic documentation for the 2.49b stuff is here:

    http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Trainz/...ers_start_here

    A number of us are using Blender to create and its quite stable. Paul Hobbs has some Blender tutorials for example. There aren't as many tutorials as there are for GMAX but its coming along quite nicely.

    Cheerio John

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    United States of America, Floatin' Along the Delaware River
    Posts
    7,394
    Blog Entries
    3
     

    Default

    Cool, now I'm gonna sleep better tonight! Again, I do see Blender as having a bright future, which is why I've stayed away from GMax. Thanks, guys. And thanks for your work, Torsten!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Canada, Ontario, Ottawa
    Posts
    14,021
     

    Default

    Normally I have to click on material then on the texture name before exporting. Probably because I have my materials set up incorrectly. I can't see how to do this in 2.5

    I like the invalid faces warning rather than a mesh which asks me if I want to ignore them.

    Cheerio John

    08:54:51 WARNING: invisible face(s) in Mesh:Cube.014 used by Object:buckeye1 detected
    08:54:51 INFO: vertices of invalid face(s) gathered in vertexgroup "ERROR_faceless_faces"
    08:54:51 ERROR: generic or faulty texture assigned to material "Material", texture(s) "Tex.001"
    08:54:51 ERROR: generic or faulty texture assigned to material "Material.001", texture(s) "Tex"
    08:54:51 ERROR: generic or faulty texture assigned to material "Material.002", texture(s) "Tex.001"

  7. #7

    Default

    The "mysterious" click in older versions was needed because I've used a Blender method to check if the image used to texture is not empty. Those method always return "is empty" until you force Blender to show it at least once during your Blender session. In the new Blender version those method has still the same problem(behaviour?!), so I decide now to check for myself. Or shorter:

    You don't longer need to click on textures before exporting.

    The downside of this is that I now check if the file referenced by the image exists:


    If this is the case I would please you to send me a blend file to reproduce and hunt the error. Maybe I should drop those check completely?

    Best regards,
    Torsten

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Canada, Ontario, Ottawa
    Posts
    14,021
     

    Default

    The folder I'm using is 236 mb so difficult to flip to you. I've now lost my blender 2.5, very embarrassing.

    I'll have a dig and see what I can come up with using a simpler model.

    Thanks John

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Florida, Tampa
    Posts
    246
     

    Default

    I cannot get the exporter to show up in Blender 2.5
    I have placed the files where you said to put them.

    I tried to export the cube as it is displayed. When I clicked on export there was no Trainz exporter listed. I downloaded the export file export_trainz.py and put it in the blender/scripts/io folder. Also put the TrainzMeshImporter.exe importer file in the same folder.

    Am I missing something here?

    Thanks for any help here.


    Dave

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Canada, Ontario, Ottawa
    Posts
    14,021
     

    Default

    When I copied the folder it lost the texture files when I pointed them again it at least did an export.

    I've managed to do it for one material but I have two others to find and repoint. 2.5 is a little different to the earlier versions.

    Cheerio John

  11. #11

    Default

    @timberdv

    Which version of Blender 2.5 do you use? I've tested the script with version 29268(the one I've linked in the first post). You'll find in the version in the right upper corner of the splash screen. Do you have any error messages in the Blender console window after starting?


    @john

    If this check "s*cks" I can remove it. The worst case that could happen is a complaining CMP ore a strange looking asset.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Canada, Ontario, Ottawa
    Posts
    14,021
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by uschi0815 View Post




    @john

    If this check "s*cks" I can remove it. The worst case that could happen is a complaining CMP ore a strange looking asset.
    No its fine. I used it on a complex blend that I hadn't used for sometime. The folder used to be on I: but on the new machine it's f: drive. Once I'd picked up the two materials I use it works fine. One was a window the other was the main texture. I'm starting to roll on it now after putting it in abeyance for nearly six months whilst I sorted out how to do a brass handle but I have two promising leads now.

    The bones looks interesting.

    Thanks

    Cheerio John

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Florida, Tampa
    Posts
    246
     

    Default

    Torsten


    Thanks That did it.

    Will try it out tonight.


    Thanks a lot

    Dave

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Florida, Tampa
    Posts
    246
     

    Default

    Torsten

    Thanks for your help.

    I am having trouble getting the textures into blender.

    Could you possibly go through the procedure for 2.5 as it relates to 2.49.

    I can get color on the object but it does not create a xml file or im file when I try to export.

    I have the exporter file and the Trainzimporter file in the io folder.

    Thanks again for any help here.

    Dave

  15. #15

    Default

    It's basicly the same procedure as in Blender 2.49, only the related buttons have moved. Create/select a material, create/select a texture for that material and assign an image file. Don't forget to unwrap your mesh.

    If you're not familiar with content creation using Blender I really suggest to stay with Blender 2.49 for now. The new script & the new Blender are too much work in progress to make the first steps reliable.

    Best regards,
    Torsten

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •